Route Planning

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Duff, Sep 5, 2016.

1. Duff

Duff Read Only Funster

Hi, total beginner here i am afraid !
    Pick our new motorhome up in a few weeks and starting to think about where to go and how. Its a 6 berth and rather long so i was wondering how people plan their routes ? I clearly dont want to get stuck in a little village or under a low bridge
    How do you plan your routes and are there any Motorhome specific Sat Navs or Phone Apps ?
    Many thanks
    Duff

2. Robert Clark

Robert Clark Funster Life Member

A regular sat nav works fine
    Look out for road signs warning of low bridges and narrow streets and you'll be fine.
    We've used ours all over Europe without issue in a 7.6m van
    If you approach a road that looks tight, simply stop, zoom out on your sat nav screen, pick another street and carry on.
    Camper specific sat navs only cover major routes so are not totally reliable.
    Enjoy your travels

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. mushy

mushy Funster

I'm a beginner but also an HGV driver so very little worries me regarding where I can drive. Just remember if the bus or the bin lorry can go there, you should have no trouble.

• Like Like x 4
  4. Gordon-G

Gordon-G Funster

What Mushy said.......drove a fire engine for 25 years, it's amazing what can fit through some streets.

• Like Like x 3
  5. Yorick

Yorick Funster

No. 1 planning trip.

Make sure the fridge is full of beer.

• Like Like x 3
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Jo662

Jo662 Funster

That's a thing we always look out for,if bins are out you can get through
    No problems.:)

7. Shrimp64

Shrimp64 Funster

Most Sat Navs can be programmed for a particular size of vehicle, hubby uses CoPilot app on his phone & it's more reliably than our SatNav!

8. John Laidler

John Laidler Funster

Look out for bins, but also keep a keen eye out for large tankers. :)