May 8, 2017
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All

I have a caravan but later this year I will be using a motorhome to do Route 66 from Los Angeles to Chicago.

Never driven a motorhome before or even stayed in one so it's all new. So joined up to ask some basic questions.

Wish me luck!!!!

OP
OP
Sirrogue58

Sirrogue58

Free Member
May 8, 2017
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks. Will be picking up motor home day after we land but got a rough idea what it looks like but that's it.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Sirrogue58

Sirrogue58

Free Member
May 8, 2017
Birmingham
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks I bought the DVD for my wife for her birthday Saturday just gone this trip was a dream of hers. :)

CWH

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 29, 2014
UK
Funster No
MH
WildAx PVC
Exp
From November 2013
Wish me luck!!!!
Good Luck! - and welcome to the Fun :hiya:
I did a part of the original Route 66 (by car) a few years ago, Kingman to Flagstaff if I remember correctly. Came in from Phoenix to Kikngman, then headed east and off to Gallup and Farmington and all points north. Only a small section; I'd just love to do the whole trip - I hope you have a most wonderful time!
When do you go?

Hollyberry

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2011
New Forest.
Funster No
MH
None.
Exp
4yrs
Hi and Welcome
Perhaps have the hire company email you a list of exactly what is included inside the motorhome for your holiday. I seem to remember reading about a couple having to immediately go to shops to buy stuff that you'd expect to be already there.
Do some research online about stopover places along your route, other than regular camp sites. Friend and her late husband did an 8 month tour of the States years ago, ( neither had ever stepped inside a motorhome before) stopped in some remote places and had no problems at all but we've all seen " There's Something about Mary" :Eeek: