Roof Cable Entry - a neat solution

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Sidney, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    683
    Location:
    Stamford
    I have plans to put an Oyster satellite, air conditioning and a couple of solar panels on my roof. That's three or four holes that I'd have to worry about.

    Then I saw this...

    [​IMG]

    Neat huh?
     
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    very neat but not a lot of entry points that I can see. Where does on find such a box though? do you have a link please.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I used a similar box but the addition of the 'through the roof' tube is a good idea.

    dont forget to use a seperate cable gland for each cable...more than one cable to a hole and it wont be waterproof....and a thin film of silicon around the rubber seal will help, you wont need to be back in there again hopefully.
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    the angle of the pic is poor Roger....it has 5 knockout holes and more could be drilled in the short edges :thumb:
     
  6. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    13,918
    Location:
    UK
    It looks great for the coachbuilts with flat roofs. I can't see it working on PVC's though :Sad:
     
  7. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Great boxes I've used a few, they're made by CBE Italy.
    I replaced this crap with one
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    13,918
    Location:
    UK
    Very nice job. Great improvement :thumb:

    This is what I use.
    www.ebay.co.uk/itm/170937376057
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    [​IMG]



    looks like there's been a fire in that one :Laughing:
     
  10. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes I use those too
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Previous owners hard earned spent on habitation servicing :Angry:
     
  12. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    683
    Location:
    Stamford
    Great work, very neat and another fine example of why (if you are competent) you should do it yourself. :Smile:
     
  13. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10,996
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    :Doh:
    Perhaps someone thought he was:Laughing:
     
  14. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    683
    Location:
    Stamford
    As this was delivered today I thought I'd provide a little more information...

    [​IMG]

    External Dimensions: 118mm x 90mm. Depth: 30mm

    There is one 19mm precut hole for a compression gland and two more are knockouts i.e. knock them out if you need to use them. One compression gland is supplied this will accommodate a cable up to 10mm in diameter.

    The threaded tube to passing through the roof will require a hole of at least 28mm in diameter. It can accommodate roofs between 15 and 58mm thick. The internal diameter is 22mm.


    :Smile:
     

    Attached Files:

  15. G8WVW

    G8WVW Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Looks great. Like the large sealant contact area between the base/roof and the raised thru-roof boss creates a bit of a dam to hold any small amounts of condensation back from your roof opening. The lid fixing screws also anchor in the base outside of the seal. Very different from the garbage on my roof where previous owner thought oodles of clear bathroom sealant would fix shortcomings of a cheap box!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    You will need a 30mm hole saw but I've used 32 simply because I have them being a sparky and the locknut handsomely accommodates this
     
  17. jb0371

    jb0371 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Teach peole to suck eggs, but I would put a bead of sikaflex on the bottom of the box and around the the down tube just to keep out the water and to add some adhesion.

    I installed a camera on the rear of my van just by buying a big IP66 box from screwfix and some big glands to accomodate the wires.

    Try not use silicon as its not very good long term for outside (wouldnt even trust the external silicone)
     
  18. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,475
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes mine is completely fixed with Sika 512 BUT abrade the box with wire wool before cleaning and sticking it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Sidney

    Sidney Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    683
    Location:
    Stamford
    Definitely! Silicon from the DIY sheds isn't good enough for use in the home bathroom let alone a MH. Glaziers do offer better stuff which I use but on the MH it will always be Sikaflex or equivalent :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page