Roof aerial

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by irnbru, Jul 23, 2013.

  1. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    9,773
    Location:
    Glasgow
    We have 2 aerials. One is a mast that you need to fit to side of van when you stop and the other one is a small round thing with a point on it on the roof. My Q is

    I had assumed the mast may be used in difficult to pick up a signal areas and the wee round one on top for normal use. We can only get a signal by using the mast. The aerial on top doesn't even pick up 1 single channel. Does this wee round one pull out, surely you don't need to take a large set of ladders to extend it or do you think the thing is just faulty and that's why the mast aerial is there.

    Each day I learn something new thanks to all you wonderful people.!
     
  2. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    is the ariel digital ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    9,773
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Thanks! Gosh I have no idea, it never even crossed my mind. There is a wee white box inside that says digital and the aerial goes into it. I am just leaving for work now so will post a couple of photos when I get home.

    This site is sure addictive. So much reading and learning.
     
  4. teddybard

    teddybard Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,611
    Likes Received:
    8,998
    Location:
    warwickshire
    Might also be worth fitting a booster
    ours works perfectly with booster
    but not at all without.

    There will be someone who knows all about installation
    but thats not me:cry:
    Roger
     
  5. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1,999
    Location:
    Co Durham
    The round flying saucer type are notoriously poor at picking up signals. The white box you describe sounds like the amplifier belonging to the round status aerial. Any aerial is capable of receiving à digital signal however usually a stronger signal is required for digital. We have a round status type which will work in good signal areas and also a directional aerial that we put up on a pole if reception is poor. The alternative is a good book:Laughing:

    John
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi, no such thing as a digital aierel, they all work or don't :Wink:
    Is the round one coupled up ? Chances are the previous owners disconnected it and used the directional one which will get a signal in poor signal areas-the Status round flying saucer type should work very well in good signal areas:Wink:
    Terry
     
  7. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    i disagree with their not being a digital ariel my old status couldnt pick up anything when i upgraded it to the newer 1 np great signal
     
  8. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Your disagreement has been noted :BigGrin: you have fallen for the marketing trap :BigGrin:My house Ariel is about 15 yrs old and picks up a brilliant signal and my Status directional van Ariel is 7 yrs old does the same-both may I add before Digital tv :Wink:
    Terry
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Location:
    West Midlands
    The 'wee white box' will have an On/Off switch. Obviously make sure it's switched on. Also there is a Hi/Lo switch. While not really knowing what this does I have found that in some areas it works on Hi and in others Lo. I'm sure it's not for hills/valleys - that would be silly :Rofl1:

    Wyn
     
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,475
    Likes Received:
    25,170
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    The White Box.

    It has a red LED, if it's not lit you'll get nothing. That poor quality aerial will not work without it's amplifier turned on. It will work well in a strong signal area. I replaced mine with a directional one which means I have to swing it every time we park.

    Half the troubles with aerials is poorly made joints in the plugs. So often the prats that fit them do no solder the solder type connector. They works for a few years then the tarnish takes over.

    I may as well add my vote: There is no such thing as a digital aerial. The carrier from the transmitter is the same for analogue and digital. What it is carrying is different.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    As has been said, there is no such thing as a digital aerial
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    well when the change over happened her my house ariel got naff all instead i used the sat dish
     
  13. StitchUp

    StitchUp Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    946
    Location:
    Bridgend, South Wales
    Digital Aerials was a ploy used by unscrupulous traders to rip people off and boy, did they go to town and rip people off! :Doh: OAPs were specifically targetted and more often than not, fell victim to this ploy - bloody criminal!
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  14. steevie

    steevie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    269
    Location:
    Holmfirth
    yep, what they really should be called is digital strength arials, as poorer arials will struggle in poor reception areas. I have got the lift up arial on the RV, but it sometimes struggles, so we have a standard £25 pole arial for most of the time. When I arrive on site, I ride round to find any others with directional arials, and note the direction. If I am early, and there are no others, I do have a meter, but usually just end up with the standard me an the missis, shouting left a bit etc. I do notice tho, most of the newer carvans now use the directional type status, rather than the flying saucer one. It looks similar, but is more of a rear drop shape.
     
  15. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,475
    Likes Received:
    25,170
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    It was not a simple unplug analogue, plug in digital at the transmitter. They ran both together for a while and I think some transmitters got dropped hoping people would move to FreeSat.

    Due to all these transmitter changes it is possible you need a different band aerial in exceptional cases.

    Here, Winter Hill, digital was quite poor for a year until they turned off analogue and fed more power into the digital transmitter.

    As usual, do it as cheaply as possible.
     
  16. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    9,773
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Here is what I have in addition to the flying saucer on the roof. Not sure which lead goes where so after trying all different positions in the white box I gave up.

    Not worth the hassle putting mast aerial up for one night stopovers. Will just need to use an inside aerial I guess. Was trying to save a little space. :Smile:
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
  17. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1,999
    Location:
    Co Durham
    The white box is the amplifier for the flying saucer, one of the white leads should go to the aerial, the other to the socket that you plug the TV into, I am assuming that the black lead is the 12V power supply.

    The black box is a signal finder, if using a directional aerial you would have this plugged in in line and turn aerial until the max number of lights show ie strongest signal .

    Just a thought, do you have more than one outlet socket for plugging in a tv aerial? if so maybe only one is connected
     
  18. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,342
    Likes Received:
    9,773
    Location:
    Glasgow
    I can only see one outlet. I have followed the aerial through to the roof. maybe its disconnected up there. I have tried an indoor booster aerial and it works so we will just use that for short trips.

    Thanks to all for your replies!

    Sandra
     
Loading...

Share This Page