Rollerteam TV Aerial ...... Doesn't Seem to Be One!

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Andy in Lossie, May 5, 2016.

  1. Andy in Lossie

    Andy in Lossie Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    Ok, I'm sat at Grantown on Spey trying out all the bits and bobs fitted to my new Rollerteam T-Line 740 and can't get a TV signal at all (I tried briefly in Lossie and just thought I was being thick when I got zero stations). I've looked for the TV aerial in case we needed to do the usual rotational shuffle, or switch on the booster and ......... I can't find an aerial at all :eek:. I've looked at all the Rollerteam promotional pictures of their 2016 range and none of them seem to have an aerial visible. Does anyone know what the x2 aerial sockets inside the van are connected to?
     
  2. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,360
    Likes Received:
    25,086
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    Hi, probably pre wired for an aerial to be fitted. Mine had a satellite TV connection....... I can't even begin to express my disappointment when I found that they hadn't actually included a dome. Similarly, you might find pre wiring for reversing camera and also solar panels
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,124
    Location:
    Kettering
    Quite possibly nothing. When you ordered/bought it did you ask for an aerial from the dealer? If not there probably isn't one.

    Have a look at your roof, they're pretty easy to spot. Also they will be on a pole so you can raise them. This will be in a wardrobe or locker somewhere.

    Unknown1.jpg Unknown-2.jpg

    If you don't have one then you won't get very far.

    What your next step is depends on how you travel: if you only intend to tour in the UK then an aerial like one of the ones above will be fine. If you intend to spend time in Europe they won't work and you would be better off with a satellite dish.

    Have a search on here for advice (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Andy in Lossie

    Andy in Lossie Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    Sat and TV points are provided in the lounge and bedroom and the Rollerteam blurb says that "TV Provision" is standard on my model. Surely there can't be TV provision without some form of aerial? Could there be an aerial within the GRP bodywork?
     
  5. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,124
    Location:
    Kettering
    No.
     
  6. Andy in Lossie

    Andy in Lossie Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    Thanks NickNic, we used to have a caravan with the flat type aerial on a tube, turned from in the cupboard and that's what I was looking for, there isn't even a provision on the roof to fit an aerial. We had to take the RT from stock as the Pilote that we ordered was going to be at least 6 weeks overdue.
     
  7. Andy in Lossie

    Andy in Lossie Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    I think that I will have to ask the dealer tomorrow. Thanks folks :thanks3:
     
  8. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,360
    Likes Received:
    25,086
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    Very odd. What does the dealer say?
     
  9. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,432
    Likes Received:
    25,111
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Problem is so many want satellite these days. So yes, some internal wiring could be all you get.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,124
    Location:
    Kettering
    There's obviously a cost implication to consider but I would be inclined to look at getting a satellite dish instead of an aerial.

    Freesat is essentially the same as Freeview and you would be both future and Euro proofing yourself.
     
  11. Neckender

    Neckender Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    1,188
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent or Benidorm
    We bought a new AutoRoller 100 in 2011 no aerial fitted so I fitted the Status telescopic aerial above an overhead locker near tv bracket.

    John.
     
  12. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,432
    Likes Received:
    25,111
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Maybe, maybe not. TV seems to moving to internet now. How long will they maintain expensive satellites ?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,360
    Likes Received:
    25,086
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    Certainly that is what I got. The status aerial on the previous motorhomes were about as much use as a chocolate fire guard anyway.
     
  14. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,124
    Location:
    Kettering
    Until fast, cheap, reliable, mobile internet service is more or less universally available which isn't going to be in the immediate future.

    Sky are reacting to that movement though with their newest Sky Q incarnation. That is internet based for fixed and mobile based TV service but does require proper WiFi to function. MiFi or mobile devices simply can't cope with the bandwidth required. We upgraded to it the a few days ago and I have to say it's bloody good.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,613
    Likes Received:
    9,788
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Our TV aerial is built into the radio aerial on the van roof
    Did you have a TV supplied with the van? If so you'd expect it to work in the uk
     
  16. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,432
    Likes Received:
    25,111
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    3G and 4G are good enough, in places, to watch bike racing with a MiFi, a bit expensive though. It's incredible haw fast things are changing. 5G is on the horizon.
     
  17. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,124
    Location:
    Kettering
    That's the killer even if you happen to be in an area with a good enough signal. An hour or so maybe OK but several hours a day, especially when out of the UK, will result in a nice surprise when you get home.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Andy in Lossie

    Andy in Lossie Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    Thanks again guys. I'll call the dealer tomorrow to get the gen but if we need to retro fit an aerial then we'll not bother and stick to DVD and Nexflix
     
  19. Andy in Lossie

    Andy in Lossie Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Lossiemouth
    Hi robert, no TV supplied with the van just TV points.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. Bobby22

    Bobby22 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3,169
    Location:
    Scotland
    There maybe a tv aerial point in the same locker as electrical hookup point. The wiring goes to the tv socket on the wall.

    You can then plug in an normal freeview aerial or mobile sat system into it from the outside.
     
Loading...

Share This Page