Roadpro sat dome

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by easygirl, May 16, 2014.

  1. easygirl

    easygirl Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Bolton
    Just fitted a roadpro sat dome, worked great at home, but on a site with a bit of tree cover, no signal
    New to this sat business, are they sensitive to trees :Angry:
     
  2. sb8263

    sb8263 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    leeds
    sorry to hear you have no signal,,,but i will be watching this post as just trying to decide if and what system to have fitted,,,or if to just get a dish on a tripod and save some cash....:Sad:
     
  3. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,360
    Likes Received:
    9,629
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Like any dish it will need a virtually free sight of the satellite at 28.2 degrees east. So, yes. :Smile:

    Edit: To enlarge on that I was at Blenheim last month and got nothing on site as I was looking SSE along the tree line. In Blenheim Park next day in the open I got a perfect signal.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2014
  4. AuldCodger

    AuldCodger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    ?
    ???

    Roadpro fitted and find it excellent, only as far south as the med and no problems whatsoever.
    Very seldom bothered by trees. Free standing setup for many years previously and again very good, carried it around as a backup for a while but decided there was no point - took up wine space :BigGrin:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. daveandsan

    daveandsan Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    1,772
    Location:
    South Staffs
    If there is a tree between the sat dome and the satellite you will not get a signal. :Sad:
     
  6. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,280
    Likes Received:
    12,109
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    our first trip out with new dome fitted got nothing, thing just kept searching. Seriously disappointed, we were parked up against a tall hedge but I expected better

    Moved next day by only about 30', perfect reception, as said you do need a reasonable line of site

    No problems since, more careful where we pitch :thumb:
     
  7. oldfozzie

    oldfozzie Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Sat Signals need clear line of sight

    TV satellites use a very high frequency for the downlink, so high that they don't go through anything, even a loosely leafed branch will stop them.
    I recommend a smart phone app called Dishpointer which uses the inbuilt compass and gps so that you can see the satellite and anything in the line of site.
    Stick with it its a great way of getting tv but you just have to be aware of your surroundings when you stop.
     
  8. Sheddy

    Sheddy Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    2,733
    Location:
    Burry Port South Wales / Benidorm
    All satellite dishes in dome or out need a clear unobstructed line of sight to the transmitting satellite, in your case its the Astra cluster at 28.2 deg east.
    I would advise getting a decent compass setting it to 28 deg east and using it to check your pitch when you arrive on site, its not only trees but any obstruction will prevent you getting a good reception, you will also need to get used to the angle of elevation the further north you go the lower the trees that will get in the way, after a while you will find it very easy to decide if a pitch is suitable,
    It also helps to ask the wardens on the site which pitches are OK for satellites, most of the time they are helpful :thumb:
     
  9. easygirl

    easygirl Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Bolton
    Thanks for all replies, I will persevere, it locked on a satellite within 20 sec at home. So I'm happy everything is working ok,
     
Loading...

Share This Page