Reverse polarity... Does it matter ? (1 Viewer)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Chap On the pitch on the site we moved to today informed me the polarity on this site is reversed,
Now dopey here never checked using the kit he was advised to get.....pillock.

Anyway everything was working fine so I checked and he was right. The lights indicated that neutral and live were reversed.

Everything on the van was working fine but I swapped the wires over anyway checked again and all 3 red lights lit to tell me all is as it should be. I put some red tape over the altered plug to remind me what I've done.

So could this have caused any problems ?

It seems the folk in the next pitch down know about the polarity status on this site but don't care..

Why do the site owners wire this way ? Surely there should be a standard and regulated way ??

All wired as it should be now so safe and sound an everything is working fine.

Just confused ! I will check next time ! After all I asked was advised and daft enough to ignore. Mmmmm,m

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
My 2012 Autotrail don't wont to play if the polarity is reversed or if the earth is missing. It just throws a tantrum :0(

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
Charlie

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
>> Reverse polarity... Does it matter ?

Ye gods, it is estimated 432.1 motorhome owners die of RP every day during the summer.

Really ?
Blimey that's nearly as many as have been gassed and the mythical two grand nicked ?

Southampton

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 16, 2011
Hampshire
Funster No
MH
C Class
Exp
Since 2009
Doesn't seem to worry my 2012 AT Comanche, everything works okay, I do have a reverse polarity lead so always use it just in case.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp