Replace sat dish?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Gollom, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. Gollom

    Gollom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Preston, Lancs
    Hetty has a pop-up satellite dish which in my un-informed opinion is probably old-hat nowadays and does not get many FreeView type channels without a subscription? How easy would it be to replace with an aerial? Or should I keep the dish?

    If replace can I simply take off the dish and slot an aerial in it's place? Where do I start to look for one?

    Many thanks
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    You should be getting more freeview type (free to air) programs with a dish than with an aerial with freeview tv.
    Your reciever probably needs undating or renewing.

    Its a simple job to replace the dish with an aerial, depending what type, once you get the dish mounting plate unstuck from the roof.
    That is the hard, time consuming part.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    If you do decide to remove the dish I would be interested in it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Gollom

    Gollom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Preston, Lancs
    I have a Sky minibox with just a SCART connection. Guessing this is dated - what should I have? Not interested in a Sky subscription or anything plus cost is an issue at the moment. There is also an electronic sat finder gizmo

    [​IMG]
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Have a look on ebay.
    Any new free to air 12v sat reciever should have all the parameters set and recieve all the free channels plus the encrypted (but not viewable without a card) channels.

    Something like this would do the job and not too expensive, plus it has "magic eye" remote so can be permanantly fitted in a cupboard/locker etc.

    http://www.campervanstuff.com/shop_stuff/index.php?mod=product&id_prd=1126
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Gollom

    Gollom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Preston, Lancs
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    Salisbury
    That's a pace box they are really good for getting signals on the extremes of satellite footprint, they are highly sought after we have one that we use down in Spain and can usually get most channels we need.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. walburga

    walburga Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Leyland
    That 12v pace box will be as good as any new ones.
    And I'll bet that once you get used to using the 'pop-up' sat dish you'll be ok.

    regards
    Allen
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Gollom

    Gollom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Preston, Lancs
    Sorry, duplicate post
     
Loading...

Share This Page