Renault Master 2.5TD - 07

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by jtp890, Mar 23, 2016.

  1. jtp890

    jtp890 Funster

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    wakefield
    Van cleaned up ready to go, tunnel this weekend. Monday pm drove 3 miles to local garage for gas fill, lost all power on exit from garage. Limped along 5mph, no throttle response, pulled over and recovered by AA.
    Fault codes showed Throttle position sensor(Fly by wire), changed yesterday but still no revs, also struggling to start . Any ideas appreciated.
    Fuel was showing 2 bars, engine had been fired up several times over winter.
     
  2. MH 55 FUN

    MH 55 FUN Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    2,935
    Location:
    South West Wales.
    Any other codes on the OBD ?
     
  3. jtp890

    jtp890 Funster

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    wakefield
    No 2 relating to throttle. AA removed EGV and blanked off , no difference. Checking fuel filter next when I can find it.
    Why did they fit computers to vehicles?
     
  4. MH 55 FUN

    MH 55 FUN Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,990
    Likes Received:
    2,935
    Location:
    South West Wales.
    I'd go with fuel filter too as a possible cause as the EGRV is now blanked with no difference
     
  5. chocky

    chocky Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    I have a Vauxhall Corsa diesel. Filled up one day and ran like a bag of sh1t. Checked the filler cap and it wasn't tightened correctly. Refitted and drove ok after that. Changed nothing else.
    i always thought that there should be a breather but it seems that some engines rely on pressure being built up in the tank. Or not!
    Can anyone comment?
     
  6. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,367
    Likes Received:
    7,935
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Yes some vehicles do require a gas tight filler cap otherwise they won't run properly. As to what ones ..................??
     
Loading...

Share This Page