Remis Vario 1 Rooflight

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Bob & Moira, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. Bob & Moira

    Bob & Moira Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester
    Anybody had problems with lifting mechanism.
    locking system not working
    and no parts available unless you buy new roof light
     
  2. lenma

    lenma Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highland
    I have just taken mine to pieces for same reason now all working ok
    You have to remove the complete mechanism and strip down. Clean the cords (pipe cleaners ) and swap them to the opposite side after removing them from the pipes and lubricating them that is!
    Same with gearbox. I used silicon grease but any one should do.
    Hope that helps as parts are no longer available.
    Regards
    Len
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Bob & Moira

    Bob & Moira Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester
    Tanks for the info i will try that and let you no if it works on mine
    regards Bob
     
  4. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    We had this problem with our Hobby caravan a few times over the last few years. At one time Remis used to supply the replacement parts 'FOC' but in recent years have been difficult to get hold off...If the cords have seized in the pipe then I found them very difficult to 'free'...In the last couple of years I did find replacement mechanisms by checking caravan dealers throughout the UK...Dependant on the size of rooflight I might have a few spare parts available..
     
  5. Bob & Moira

    Bob & Moira Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester
    The size is 900x600 the roof lifts up but will not lock think it must be the cords Bob
     
  6. lenma

    lenma Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highland
    Yes it is but you have to remove them give them a good clean and grease, reinsert and make sure they run free and remember to swap sides.
    When you assemble the two pieces out of the gearbox are about 35 MM. per side
    If you want more info pics etc give me your email and I will send what I have.
    Len
     
  7. Bob & Moira

    Bob & Moira Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester
  8. lenma

    lenma Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highland
    Send me your email address and I will send what I have.
     
  9. Bob & Moira

    Bob & Moira Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester
  10. Bob & Moira

    Bob & Moira Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester
    hi Moulin 87 do you have any spare cables as the worm on mine is badly worn roof size 900x600
    regards Bob
     
  11. lenma

    lenma Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highland
    Great news Bob glad it worked. Let me know if you find a source of the cable.
     
  12. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,860
    Likes Received:
    14,520
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    A post in Tech Mech General with your pictures would be very welcome (y)
     
  13. premiere99

    premiere99 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Medomsley, County Durham
    I had the same problem on our Autotrail Cheyenne until October 2013 when we had it ripped off by very high winds. It had got very difficult to open/close and obviously without our knowledge when it was closed, it was not putting the two metal locking plates into the plastic retainers. The roof was smashed onto the front bulge of the Autotrail with such force it cracked the GRP roof and obliterated the perspex skylight.
    Went through Comfort Insurance and they allowed us to get it replaced with a Remis Tilt and Slide roof and get the GRP repaired, £2000.00 pounds but thankfully only had to pay £200.00 excess so no more problems thanks to Caravan Tech of Hurst Green who suggested the sliding roof and did a great repair.
    When the bathroom suffered the same lifting problem I replaced that one myself with a
    Seitz Mini Heki Plus.
     
  14. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    Sorry Bob, mine were 400*400 and I think 750*500....What length cables are you looking for and I'll have a look to see if any are close...
     
  15. lenma

    lenma Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Highland
    Can you include me in the search mine are for a 700 X 500
     
  16. moulin 87

    moulin 87 Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Limousin, France
    The spare cables I have are all 'used'.

    2 at 65 cms, one is little used the other is not so good, the other is 55cms and is 'OK'..

    It was recommended to us to replace them with Heiki but internally they are not so big so you would always see the outline where the original Remis rooflight had been.
     
  17. Bob & Moira

    Bob & Moira Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manchester
    the cables on mine are 1250mm long
    Been trying to take the plastic end of so that i can put on opposite end this would work on a different place on the cable not had any success at the moment
    Can you remove them of the cables you have
    Regards Bob
     
Loading...

Share This Page