Rapido 2015 8 Series - Do you have a dash handbrake light?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by clanjones, Aug 16, 2016.

  1. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Hi,

    Spent today getting some bits and bobs sorted out on the above van, Fiat Ducato base chassis and my question is does anyone have a dash handbrake warning light on a series 8 motorhome? We have an 881F. I.e. does a light come on the dash when the hand brake is engaged?

    The only reason I ask is that we don't and before going back to the dealer thought it would be worthwhile getting a view. The capability exists it doesn't appear to have been set up during manufacture.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. StitchesnFluff

    StitchesnFluff Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Salisbury
    I'm sure if it has a ducato base it should
     
  3. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    5,292
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    All the ones I have had were ftted with one and a bleeper if hand brake is not put right down. Outof interest does anyone ever look at it or for it?
     
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    That's a base vehicle thing, not a converter thing so the make and model of the motorhome doesn't matter.

    All Ducatos I've ever seen have a light and a warning beep so if neither is working on yours it suggests something isn't quite right.
     
  5. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Yep Fiat confirmed the capability is there but that the converter wiring hadn't enabled it and the switch was damaged! I bet this gets interesting! It was also suggested but only suggested, it could be an MOT fail!

    I'll keep you posted but I suspect this may take some time!
     
  6. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,597
    Likes Received:
    3,076
    Location:
    Cumbria
    When we picked up our van (secondhand) the handbrake light didn't work, one of the many items missed by the dealer :mad: the switch on the handbrake lever just needed a little adjustment, you could take a look at that first ?
     
  7. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Fiat seemed to imply that the microswitch was damaged and had been done so by the converter. This will be fun!
     
Loading...

Share This Page