Rant - Snooper

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Chris, Jan 18, 2015.

  1. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,503
    Location:
    kent
    I have had a Snooper sat nav thing for a few years but it's never worked properly on 12v.

    I decided it was probably a faulty 12v lead so I contacted Snooper and bought a new one for £25.

    So I got in the van yesterday and took the new charger out of the wrapping to plug it in.

    To my dismay I couldn't plug it in. The sods had sent me the charger but with no actual plug to plug it into the cigarette lighter just 2 little leads with soldered ends on them and the other end of the lead to plug into the Snooper.

    What's the ******* point in that???

    I suppose I now have to source a plug but don't know where to start with that or how to fit the leads into the plug when I get it.

    Any help greatly appreciated.

    I would warn anyone else to avoid Snooper products like the plague.
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,246
    Likes Received:
    34,478
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    A bit of wire for £25? Some people know how to make profits. I haven't liked the attitude of Snooper since talking to their people on their stand at the NEC several years ago.
     
  3. CWH

    CWH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    10,198
    Location:
    under a wand'rin' star
    try John's Cross which is where we got our Snooper from (& loads of help & support to fix the problems we'd had with the previous satnav)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    3,068
    Location:
    Cumbria
    You can get a cigar type plug from Maplin if there is one near by, or what about taking the plug off your original one, depends how competent you feel with electrics mind ?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Lincs
    There are two separate products. One plugs into the cigarette lighter & the other one is designed to be hard wired to your 12v supply, which is neater & leaves your fag lighter socket free for something else. I have both.

    Just a simple mistake. You have been sent the wrong one. I'm sure they'll swap it for you.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,503
    Location:
    kent
    Ah - that makes sense.

    Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Lincs
    It's rather more than a bit of wire. It's a 12v --> 5.5v converter. The one Chris has been sent just doesn't have the cigarette lighter plug on the end of it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,246
    Likes Received:
    34,478
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Thanks for the clarification. Even so, 25 quid? :)
     
  9. Barclaybasher

    Barclaybasher Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    7,104
    Location:
    Derby

    Yes terrible........about 10 minutes of a lawyers time.......:whistle:





    Sorreeeee(y)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,246
    Likes Received:
    34,478
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Only a cheap lawyer though :LOL:
     
    • Like Like x 4
  11. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    London
    My "newish" Snooper would not work on 12v.

    I phoned them and they sent a new 12v power supply out for free.

    They did not even ask for the old one back.

    I suspect that they had known about a batch of faulty 12v power supplies.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,443
    Likes Received:
    34,503
    Location:
    kent
    Now he tells me:D
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    London
    Sorry - I will try to do better next time :rolleyes::);)
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Gosport Tim
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    185

Share This Page