radio reception

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by freelanderuk, Jun 23, 2013.

  1. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    i read a post a week or so ago about someone connecting there cab radio to the status flying saucer aerial , can not find it now and just wondering how they got on with reception
     
  2. cbrookson

    cbrookson Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Given that it is a few bent bits of wire (folded dipoles) and a preamp .... I guess it will work but there are probably better aerials - depending on what you want to use it for: FM, MW or DAB.

    The interesting picture of the insides is here.

    Cheers
     
  3. jb0371

    jb0371 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I did this a few weeks ago myself, as the radio reception was crap at best and absolutely s**t at worst. I have to say things have improved dramaticly however it is not always perfect, but def worh doing, all youhave to do is to climb up onto the roof to extend the antennae (leave them fully extended) and then turn on the status when you listen to the radio. Just remeber if you do use the status with the tv and turn it 90 degrees turn toi back horizontal before lowering the pole.

    I researched the correct arial coaxial and went with this

    http://www.screwfix.com/p/labgear-rg6-satellite-coaxial-cable-white-25m/28547

    Even though it is shielded I routed it away from all other powered cables. As I say not 100% but 100% better than before if that makes sense.

    Hope this helps
     
  4. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    I am thinking of connecting my cab radio to the flying saucer amplifier as that has a FM Aeriel socket to use whilst driving as my reception is terrible on the screen aerial i fitted
     
  5. Rapide561

    Rapide561 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Leeds and Lake Garda
    We fitted an external aerial to the Fiat cab - I know it is not what you are intending, but might be easier to achieve - see here

    Russell
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    which in turn is no better than this maxview version.

    [​IMG]

    http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/viewitem?itemId=130934581894
     
  7. freelanderuk

    freelanderuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    Saltfleet/Lincolnshire
    i have completed the connection of my cab radio to the status flying saucer Ariel , the Ariel extension lead all hidden and very tidy, i am very pleased with the reception that it has given me and allowed me to find many more stations , it even picks up stations on MW and LW now, this is with the amp turned of , so should be ok whilst driving:Smile:, when i turned the amp on and the booster was set to high i received some interference on some local stations ,turned the amp to low and the interference went:Smile: at a cost of £11.99 for 2x 4 meter Ariel extension leads and not having to drill the van wing i am pleased :BigGrin:
     
  8. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,349
    Likes Received:
    21,731
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    I gather you are only using the aerial for FM reception then ?
    It is NOT the correct cable for mw reception at all.
    That is 75 ohm unbalanced feed coax which is great form frequencies above say 20 meg but below,.,, no.. car radio antenna cable is pretty weird stuff. To 'kid' the radio into believing it has an aerial that is suitable for lower frequencies the centre core is actually concertina'd and is about 8 x longer than the outer ! :Wink:
     
  9. Dubiousp

    Dubiousp Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Well I have a status 530 so I ran a coax through to the radio, the signal is worse than what I had on the wing aerial. Starting to think the radio is naff
     
Loading...

Share This Page