Radio in a Coach Built

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by andyman, Mar 27, 2008.

  1. andyman

    andyman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    We have a Autotrail Apache and the cab radio is next to usless. I think this is due to the aerial being fitted in side next to the screen pillar. It is a 12volt powered type, has anyone else got / had problems with athe radio in a coach built. If so have you resolved it, I am thinking of getting a DAB adaptor, you fit the unit to the screen like a satnav, and then tune the radio to the dab adaptor. Anyone tried this approach?
     
  2. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,867
    Likes Received:
    76,270
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    The radio in our Autotrail was next to useless, I was told that the aerial was in or near the wing mirrror and that is why the reception was rubbish This was a new (in 2006) model. I contemplated drilling a hole in the wing and fitting one of those Halford stubby black after market aerials but I sold it before I got round to it.

    At the time I put a post on motorhomefacts about it and quite a few Fiat owners responded with similar stories of poor reception. Have they sorted this out in the new model?
     
  3. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    I did drill the hole and fit a rubber duck as there called, Sorted!!
     
  4. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Most of the cab radios are fine for what they are - its the aerial as Jim has pointed out. Our Autosleeper Ravenna, before we got the Adria, had a similar problem until I fitted a little aftermarket aerial. Of course, if you don't want to do that - you can always just listen to CDs as it shouldn't affect that.

    I was really disappointed with the audio setup in the Adria though, for an expensive van it could have been a much better head unit and the rear speakers could have had an isolator switch at the fixed bed area, as well as a power switch there. Eventually solved that one by replacing the head unit with one with a remote so its easy to switch off without having to get out of bed and walk to the front of the van tripping over the Collie etc etc.

    You can also use your TV aerial as an FM aerial if you use a splitter and run a cable from the BNC connector to the radios aerial works quite well. Some TV aerial amplifiers, I think Status 530/5 amongst them, have a socket for FM reception as well. generally goes unnoticed and unused - worth a try!!

    Laurie
     
Loading...

Share This Page