Radio fitting in X250

Discussion in 'Base Chassis Section' started by Blackeunos, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. Blackeunos

    Blackeunos Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Hi All,

    Can someone give me some guidance please, I would like to fit a radio in my new(2010) motorhome. The vehicle is a Fiat Ducato X250 2.3 multivalve. I can see where it goes, but is it just a case of pulling the blanking plate out or is there some cunning and hidden fixings.


    Thanks
    Stewart
     
  2. DiscoDave

    DiscoDave Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The north
    Hi stewart,
    You should have two dash trays in the centre of the dash, put your hand on the bottom of the top tray and pull it toward you. should come our fairly easily, all your connections should be clipped in to the back of this tray, depending on the stereo you fit it's a fairly straight forward job.

    have fun!
     
  3. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,426
    Likes Received:
    25,080
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Blimey - all that money and no radio ?

    Once you fit one the usual problem is poor aerial - everyone complains about poor reception.
     
  4. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    We already had one fitted in our 2010 voyager but from day one very bad reception and sometimes nothing at all just white noise but as we dont listen to the cab radio much havent bothered with it, marquis said bring it along and we will fix it but its not worth the 200 mile drive to get it done, I think it's only come on once properly when we were driving to North Wales , we had formerly put it down to poor signal strength but it doesnt work ANYWHERE now, the CD works fine though so we will listen to them if need be!!
     
  5. Neckender

    Neckender Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    1,174
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent or Benidorm
    We had radio fitted in our new then 08 trigano and reception has been good, no problems at all.

    John.
     
  6. atakd

    atakd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wirral

    Not a poor aerial ...NO aerial:Angry: Fiat /Peugeot vans have the aerial on the roof and it is cut off by the MH converters. I found this hard to believe till I saw the bare end of the cable. Maybe they think they can get away with it coz everyone listens to MP3s nowadays.
     
  7. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Rochester
    My 07 Fiat Ducato radio Aerial is in the wing mirror and about as much use as a cat flap in a submarine. I ended up putting a ruuber duck type on the roof fixing it to the rack, spot on reception now.:thumb:
     
  8. Blackeunos

    Blackeunos Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for the replies Especially Discodave. Yes I agree Chausson/Fiat should fit a radio. Other than that the spec is very good with aircon and cruse control fitted as standard, but never mind Alde had their stereo on offer this weekend and they are superb!! So we will have to see what the reception is like.

    Regards

    Stewart
     
  9. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    5,563
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Er!!! scuse me:RollEyes:
    Never heard of Cat Fish:Doh:
     
  10. Blackeunos

    Blackeunos Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Hi Guys,



    Next problem is the radio only plays when ignition is on. Checked the supply wires and both are correct as per radio diagram. I gather this is correct can someone tell me if it is possible to wire in so radio plays when ignition is off.



    Thanks

    Stewart
     

Share This Page