RADIO FIAT DUCATO 2011

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by musson, Aug 1, 2014.

  1. musson

    musson Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    grantham
    Hi
    just wondered if anyone has had a issue with the radio reception
    when the MH is stationary works great but on the move it is no use cannot get hardly
    any stations,the dealer has just fitted a new unit,still the same I am taking it back again
    any suggestions
    Thanks
    Paul
     
  2. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,976
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    London
    We have a 2012 Fiat Ducato based motorhome with the Autotrail media centre.

    Absolutely useless as a radio.

    We have never used it since we tried it on the very first journey when we picked it up brand new.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. The Dude

    The Dude Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    2,109
    Likes Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Near Uttoxeter and Crete
    Same for us with 2010 Autotrail on a Fiat Ducato. We always take the IPOD as the radio is so useless. Had a Autocruise on a Peugot Boxer before and radio was fine. Don't really understand why there should be such a difference but there is.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. TheDentons

    TheDentons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    South Wales
    2011 ducato with a blaupunkt radio which was rubbish replaced it with a kenwood problem solved
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Hydrocell

    Hydrocell Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    112
    Location:
    Ebbw Vale Gwent
    Hi Paul
    Yes I too have the same problem, haven’t sorted it out yet but I will get to the bottom of the problem, however my first throats are to lead me to believe that it is possibly the aerial on the roof or even a bad connection on the coax cable.

    Regards
    Ray
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Manxcat

    Manxcat Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    121
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    The answer seems to be that the "standard" aerial is inside the wing mirrors and is useless. We paid £800 for a fancy Blaupunkt New York system (very good), but the radio was completely useless. A local specialist fitted a "proper" aerial and all is now well.

    By the way this cost about £140 for fitting professionally.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    11,112
    Location:
    Kettering
    Same problem here as well. Great reception when engine off, horrible static with engine on. It has a roof aerial, it has a suppressor fitted and the metal case of the radio unit is definitely grounded. Any ideas?
     
  8. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    I assume you are listening to FM stations? If so an incompetent installer has to try really hard to enable you to hear interference. I have never seen a decent dealer installation of a radio or aerial on any MH I've owned. My new-to-me Hymer is a case in point: the original aerial is a Calearo which has a splitter inside the vehicle just behind the aerial itself. The splitter has two outputs - one for FM radio and the other (not connected & hidden behind the dashboard) for digital television. The aerial is within 25mm of aluminium bodywork over 2/3 of its length. It isn't earthed to the bodywork but has a separate 2.5 sq. mm wire running from the base of the aerial, inside the vehicle, to the chassis. There are so many things wrong with that installation I don't know where to begin .................. well I do actually - I replaced the whole lot.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page