radio cd

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by gpz, Aug 7, 2016.

  1. gpz

    gpz Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    when we bought our van hymer exiss silverline on a transit chassis there was a sony touch screen cd player in it but the radio reception is horrible constant interference ,went to halfords but they say its the reversing camera i thought maybe the aerial was at fault anybody shed any light on this as its driving us mad ,any help appreciated
     
  2. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    3,964
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    From what I gather, & personal experience - MH radio reception is generically... crap.
    Mine is awful.
     
  3. ivorantony

    ivorantony Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    481
    Location:
    London SE
    Not if you fit a quality roof aerial with good ground plane,
    the best radio in the world will be useless with out a decent antenna full stop,
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. rangitira

    rangitira Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,265
    Likes Received:
    12,444
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Had the same problem, cured it by installing a W/Screen Aerial, lot of people say they are crap, but I've never had bad reception with mine
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    678
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    I found that USB sockets for sat nav / dash cam plugged into cigarette socket caused interference on my radio, car and moho.
    I replaced the cig socket for a fitted USB in moho but sometimes I still get interference at times when I plug in devices.
    I wish I knew what would cure it.
    Could @ivorantony give a link to a decent aerial ?
     
  6. ivorantony

    ivorantony Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    481
    Location:
    London SE

    I have used this company, they have a massive choice so I picked out the best for reception for my DAB/FM/AM /CD player, I can truthfully say there is now nowhere in the country I cannot get great reception, I have listen to Heart/LBC/Magic/radio 2/3/4/5 up into Scotland Wales and Cornwall,
    it's of paramount importance to have a good ground plane beneath the aerial, especially if it ISNT metal that you are fixing too!

    http://www.dabonwheels.co.uk/uploaded_files/DAB aerial compatibility chart.gif
     
  7. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    678
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    For a numpty like me can you explain a good ground plane please ?
     
  8. gpz

    gpz Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    thats a good question Figaro anybody explain what a ground plane is
     
  9. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    Location:
    West Midlands
    From my CB Radio days I vaguely recall that a ground plane is a decent sized metal sheet that the aeriel's signal is boosted by. A car wing or similar was ideal. Not sure how you'd manage on a motorhome, though.

    Wyn
     
  10. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    2,498
    Location:
    Surrey
    Not exactly. But an aerial must be earthed, that's the ground plane in a nutshell. Generally the aerial will be earthed to the body of the vehicle. Problem is, with motorhome conversions, the aerial wire is not actually attached to anything, the converters just cut off the wire. Hence the bad reception!
     
  11. gpz

    gpz Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    north yorkshire
    well in desperation i went to local auto electrician i saw his eyes glaze over as soon as i told him what the problem was, so ive been out today and bought an electronic glass mount aerial see if that works ,will let you know later in the week when i get a chance too have a look at it
     
  12. reynardracer

    reynardracer Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Twyford
    Hi Gaz did you get your radio glass mounted Ariel sorted out.
     
  13. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Last posted Aug 14th Must have been a bigger job than anticipated :xeek:
    Rubber Duck on the metal wing, direct to rear of head unit discarding any existing Arial wire and plug -----sorted
    Link for example only Available at any local Halfords or independent car
    Accessory shop
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    678
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    I complained to road hawk that the dash cam made the radio unusable in the car. They suggested putting ferrite rings on the cable, didn't make any difference. Then I bought a hardwire kit to put it in MoHo. I've wired it in but not tested yet and I'm going to be very annoyed if it still makes radio unusable.
    PS the hardwire kit has a box of tricks to cut interference, let's hope it works !
     
  15. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,350
    Likes Received:
    21,731
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Let me take you back in time when everyone had those big old tv aerials..
    Forget most of the aerial, but the bit that the cable connected to had, effectively two legs coming out either side of the connector
    That bit is called a dipole ( I am keeping this in simple terms before a tech head berates me :) )
    It has one leg connected the screen ( the outer wire ) of the coax and the other leg going to the centre of the coax to keep things balanced up

    On a car antenna you have one stick.. And the centre of the coax is connected to that.
    To balance that one stick the body of the vehicle is used, and that in tech speak is the ground plane

    If I fit an aerial on a motorhome I always fit it on the side of a front wing to be sure I am getting said ground plane effect.
    You MUST make sure the paint is taken off inside the wing so the earthy side of the aerial makes a good connection.
    That is something a lot of factory fitted aerials failed on and was the cause of an awful lot of poor reception issues.

    A windscreen antenna ( the better more expensive ones anyway ) do work reasonably well but can never replace a properly installed aerial
    To misquote Scotty from Star Trek, ya canna change the laws of physics .. As much as the makers and suppliers would like you to believe they have !
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,966
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    As I did with my first moho....carioca on a 1.9 fiat.
    .
    Had to take the wing off as there was less than 2" clearance and no room for hands to get in, but as the wing bolted on it wasn't the end of the world.
     
  17. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,473
    Likes Received:
    25,161
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    And he was proved wrong by The Q.
     
  18. rangitira

    rangitira Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6,265
    Likes Received:
    12,444
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Aaaaaaah phoowee! I do get a far better reception, excellent in fact, than the one that had been installed by makers, and I didn't have to faff about drilling holes in metalwork/bodywork to install a Windscreen Aerial:dance2:


    Ha ha ha ha! so there see :hugs:
     
  19. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    5,075
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Normally Hymer A Class have the aerial in the A pillar or the cab roof and also have an inline amplifier and you get good reception.
    Our Exiss has excellent reception where our previous low profile Hymer with the standard Fiat aerial was crap.
    You could have a poor connection or bad earth to the aerial I would follow the wiring back carefully cheching all the connections.
     
  20. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,350
    Likes Received:
    21,731
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    In our Miller, after a lot of faffing around I decided to dig deep..
    Removed most of the dash and then found the problem !
    The converters had just cut the end off the coax and left it buried behind a lot of gubbins !
     
Loading...

Share This Page