Question about TV

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Chris, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    36,863
    Location:
    kent
    Sorry to be a dimwit but we are about to get a satellite system fitted.

    Question is - can I watch tv without hook up and if so how?
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,559
    Likes Received:
    26,670
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Yes of course.

    If your equipment is 240V you will have to fit an inverter. This generates 240V from your leisure batteries. Get a suitable one fitted at the same time.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,737
    Likes Received:
    36,863
    Location:
    kent
    Thanks very much for that :thumb:
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,116
    Likes Received:
    17,785
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    many sat receivers run on 12v just like many tv's.

    they may plug into the mains socket but have a transformer (known as a black box or Brick) in the mains lead dropping 230v mains to 12v dc.

    all you need is the correct size 12v dc plug to match the input socket on the receiver then plug into a fag lighter socket.

    HERE are 30 odd 12v receivers for starters...some with 12v lead included
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,398
    Likes Received:
    7,501
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    We have a Camos dome, a Maxview satellite tuner and an Avtex tv all of which run directly off the 12v habitation batteries....no problem.:thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,733
    Likes Received:
    23,157
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    We have a Pace 12v Sky box.. Receives all the Sky channels we get at home. ( on or off hookup :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
    • Like it Like it x 1
  7. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,518
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    We use either our Sky+ box, or Sky HD+ box from home, with the card, in so we get the full package, when in the van.

    We have a small inverter powering the 240V Sky boxes.

    Both TV's are 12Volt.

    Callum
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  8. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,829
    Likes Received:
    11,948
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    :youbetcha:
    Eddie
     
Loading...

Share This Page