PWM solar charge controller.... (1 Viewer)

Dave K

Free Member
Mar 24, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Pilote P740C
Exp
Since 2013
image.jpeg
Hi all
When we ordered the new van we had a 140w solar panel fitted with 2 leisure batteries, the controller is a EPRC10 - EC pwm solar charge controller as pictured above. I'm a complete novice to solar power so just had a couple of questions...

What is the best setting to have it on, it lists about 16 different settings, lights on after x amount of hours, I can't get my head around this because I thought i would just use
the power it has stored, or is this a power saving setting??

Will this charger also top up the vehicle battery when it is stored, if not what will I need to install

I'm sure all will become clear as we go along but just wondered if anyone could shed some light
Thanks in advance
Dave

Sep 24, 2013
Norwich
Funster No
MH
Carthago A class
Exp
Since 2014
I had one of these a few years ago. The 16 settings you refer to are for switching the load (right hand two terminals) on and off in various sequences. If you are just using this as a solar charger I would ignore this (and don't use those terminals). Just connect up to leisure battery (centre two terminals) and solar panels (left hand two terminals). In that order just to be safe. And double check polarities. It will not charge the vehicle battery as well. You will need another box for this which puts charge into the van battery when the leisure battery gets to a certian level of charge. Others will advise on that.

These are fairly basic chargers and will only deliver max 10 amps which may be ok in the UK. Most on here will advise to upgrade to a better charger as soon as possible, possibly to an MPPT type which are more efficient under most conditions (but not always!).

OP
OP
Dave K

Dave K

Free Member
Mar 24, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Pilote P740C
Exp
Since 2013