Problems help!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by critch, Jul 8, 2016.

  1. critch

    critch Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    lancs
    Just returned from 5 weeks in Germany and Austria all went well apart from two issues which perhaps some other funsters have met. We have a 2013 Autotrail Tracker,and with all the heavy rain we have had,some mornings had waterfalls running down the windscreen, on those mornings when starting the engine we had a nasty screeching noise for about 15 seconds, sounded like a belt slipping,for the rest of the day all was normal. The stupid drainage holes were open,and it only happened on wet mornings. Secondly we have the "brilliant"Autotrail media pack in the van, and whilst in Germany and Austria were able to pick up local TV including the football ( I know it is sad for a rugby league man) when we got back to France, all we got was a message No av or scrambled signal, so no programmes. Is this normal, or have the French already kicked us out of the EU, removed British TV owners from those who can get their programmes, if so retaliatory action should be taken. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,321
    Likes Received:
    7,575
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Ref the drainage hole.. They need a poke now and again to unblock.. I have a piece of old solar cable i keep just for that job.

    TV.. Are you re-tuning and also selecting the country as you travel around ??? If not thats your issue. Needs to be done every time you move..
     
  3. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    The screeching noise was almost certainly a slipping fan/water pump belt and should be addressed asap.
    Although it was caused by being wet in this instance it should still be done as it is obviously not set to the right tension

    TV, as already said, did you retune the telly ? And did you make sure you were using the digital side of the tuner and not the analogue side, as all of France is now digital.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  4. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    1,755
    Location:
    London
    I think France is now all HD television so if you have a non HD media it won't work. :(

    There was a thread a few months ago about it. But I can't find it sorry.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Noo.. not all HD.. All digital yes, but not all HD :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. yodeli

    yodeli Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    8,031
    Location:
    Balma (next to Toulouse) France
    • Useful Useful x 3
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    2,150
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Bloody French!. Given us trouble since the Romans went Home!.:D:D:D

    Not so much as a Thank You, for saving their Ar8es twice in the last Hundred Years!

    Pete
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  8. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    You shouldn't need a new aerial, if you get digi you should get hd too, we can....
    Cheers, Dave(y)
     
  9. teensvan99

    teensvan99 Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Margate
    Why not just fit a sat system. UK TV in a lot of Europe. Simple. As for slipping belt or belts change them.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. yodeli

    yodeli Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    8,031
    Location:
    Balma (next to Toulouse) France
    Dear Dave......... this is because you don't know what kind of TVs I have at home. Good for you if all yours are digi/ HD ...; but MINE are all very old TV sets, not digi , nor set for HD! Nor was my aerial which was an old one as well, so I did need a new one.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  11. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Hi, Yodeli, I hope I haven.t upset you, certainly not my intention.
    Cheers, Dave(y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Well well well !
    Thank you for the update Frankie.. Just looked at what is now on offer ..
    It seems the switch over to HD was completed on April 16th which is why I never caught it.. We had been back in the UK a couple of weeks by then

    Soooo..
    For anyone with a standard definition TV you will now have to spend about 30 € and get an HD box to use in France. ( or as mentioned just use a sat dish :) )

    Whilst in Spain this year I did actually grab an HD box from Media Markt for an unrelated reason.. It was 29.99 € and has a USB port which allows you to put a memory stick in to record programs on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,690
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Not trying to be clever, but we have taken our TV out altogether , just too much faffing about every time you move , as we do most days, so now just read or mess about with tablets if we have nothing better to do which isn't very often.(y):)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  14. critch

    critch Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    lancs
    Thanks all, if they have changed the TV that answers that,don't want a sky dish not that desperate, the drain holes were open just too much water, going in on Tuesday for a checkup hopefully will resolve the problem
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    4,099
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    Your screeching will be the alternator belt. The alternator will be charging your batteries at quite a high rate if you have been using the leisure batteries a lot, and this will put extra load on the belt
    Get it adjusted asap.
    Can't help with the tv though, although we have two in the van, we only ever watch dvd's or pre recorded stuff, if we have time.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. critch

    critch Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    lancs
    Squeak sorted, the drain tube had come off, they showed me ,it is a very small diameter tube easy to block as we all know, but only push on great if not raining, thanks for all suggestions.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    3,297
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
  18. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,319
    Likes Received:
    21,559
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    ????????????????
     
  19. EX51SSS

    EX51SSS Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    2,679
    Location:
    North Manchester
    Apparently it's all HD now. Tv's produced now have the PAL system (UK and possibly others) and SECAM (possible little different)
    Yeah, France is all HD now not just digital. Apparently there are 2 main systems ( probably more). UK generally uses the PAL system whereas the French system is SECAM. Most televisions made now have both systems incorporated but, probably like yours, mine is PAL only therefore you'll get INVALID FORMAT when you tune in. Personally I blame our TV people for not advising us that we couldn't get TV in France if your television was more than 2/3 years old. The TV is absolutely fine in other countries. Perhaps brexit didn't help. Small price to pay I say
     
  20. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Automatic tensioner John.
    The vast majority of flat belts are auto tension.
    If it squeaks its usually a badly worn or very dirty belt.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. robrace
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    329
  2. GWAYGWAY
    Replies:
    28
    Views:
    959
  3. Ovalball
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    804
  4. robrace
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    513
  5. Pam
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    262

Share This Page