Power (1 Viewer)

Oct 23, 2009
Anglesey North Wales
Funster No
MH
Adria Twin 640SLB
Exp
Since 2010
As a complete novice am looking for some power advice .
I am sitting here second night wild camping at a Chester car park and notice that by leisure batteries ( 2 x 110amp ) are now down to about 12.1 volts . I’m thinking that I will have to move tomorrow as my batteries will surely be down to about 11.7 volts by then. I think I am being frugal with consumption just some LED lights for reading and a TV on for about 2-3 hours plus the usual on and off with the water pump as and when required .
My questions are:
1. Is two nights wild camping in winter about all I could be expected to get with my set up ?
2. What options have I got to improve this situation and get a few more nights without moving to charge?
3. If I ran the engine whilst stationery how long would it take to recharge the batteries?
4. I have a small Kippor suitcase genny in the back but if I ran this how long would it take to charge the batteries ?
5. Is a 80W solar power panel in winter worth fitting ?
6. Is a battery to battery charger worth fitting?
7. Would you advise fitting another 110 A battery?
Thanks in advance

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
two nights using what little power you state doesnt sound right to me.

are the batteries in good condition ?

at 12.1v your batteries are technicaly flat already.
the attached battery charge state chart has the voltages on and you shouldnt go below 60% of full charge.

your genny connected to the hookup point, instead of direct to the battery via the 12v socket on the genny, should recharge in 3 or 4 hours.

the genny's 12v charge socket is only around 7amps but the onboard charger will be at least 15amp.

Attachments

• battery chart.jpg
    battery chart.jpg
    140.5 KB · Views: 60
Last edited:
Upvote 0

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Funster No
MH
A Woosh bang