power in my 20 year old hymer??

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by nunny666, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    hi all,can someone refresh my memory ,if my leisure battery is flat and i plug my mains power lead into my hymer b534 is it just the fridge that lights up on switch and i need to wait for leisure battery to charge in order for my lights to work,thanks in advance ,nunny
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    You should have instant 12v to all appliances when on hookup via the battery charger/power supply even if the battery is flat.
    The fridge is independant of the battery on hookup and will be on 230v.

    If you have no 12v at all i suggest your charger isnt working.
    Many older chargers have an onboard fuse, usually a glass tube type, somewhere in the charger casing or the 230v breaker controlling the charger circuit has tripped.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    hi ,no it has not tripped ,and i cant see a fuse my charger is the basic elektroblock la110,cant see a fuse .weird it worked when we went to howarth few week ago ,setting off wed ,no lights lol.i can here it buzzing as normal buddy
     
  4. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    been informed my elektroblok dosnt have any fuses ???
     
  5. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    30,775
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Check under the passenger seat, on the panel with all the electric relays bolted on. There is a fuse box containing 4 glass fuses. One of them controls the charger.
    Borrow a multi-meter, and check your hab battery. Plugged in, it should read about 13.8 volts. If it reads 12 or below, its the charger, either fuse or unit. (y)

    OH! I suppose you have switched the 12 volt on at the hab panel???
     
  6. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Hi tootles , how's things , I don't have anything under my passenger seat buddy , my relays are to the left of drivers seat at front behind the bullet fuses , but no glass fusers , my habitation panel dosnt have a switch to switch on or off , it just always worked until now , I havnt had my mains lead in so leisure battery is flat however
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    When I spoke to the people in Wales who work on the elecroblok units they informed me mine was basic charger with no fuses , can't get my head round the fact that when I parked it up all was fine , must be like the lambrettas I owned in past lol , of all the times to not work though
     
  8. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    The only control I have for the 12 v is a red isolator switch to the side of the bullet fuses tootles , where my water levels are and power etc on the panel their is no 12 v on off on my Hymer
     
  9. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    30,775
    Location:
    Lancaster
    OK then, just put the multi-meter across your hab battery when your plugged in.
     
  10. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Will go try it now
     
  11. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Getting zero
     
  12. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Last time this occurred it was the tab on one of the bullet fuses , but I bent it in and it worked , tried all the bullet fuses and they seem ok
     
  13. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Could the big red isolator switch be faulty ?
     
  14. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    30,775
    Location:
    Lancaster
    So, theres nothing at all in your battery???????? like ZERO???? Sure you have the meter set up right??
     
  15. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    plug an external 12v charger into a vacant socket then and connect to the battery however if your meter really is reading zero across the battery terminal on the volts 20v DC range then the battery is beyond redemption or the meter is incorrectly set/buggered
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,205
    Likes Received:
    9,587
    Location:
    Dorset
    buggered is a little used technical term well related to the FUBAR principle
     
    • Like Like x 3
  17. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Cheers all will check . Mite have to exit until morn it's too dark to see right ,
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,939
    Likes Received:
    30,775
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Put the lights on then........:rofl::rofl::rofl:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Update plugged my invertor in plug socket that also can work as battery charger , lights work ?no what nakerd battery or on board charger ?
     
  20. nunny666

    nunny666

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Can someone explain this , I ran invertor for two to three mins on charge mode . I've now unplugged it and all my appliances work ie control panel water level gauges lights ? How weirdos that any idea why ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page