portable vs fixed solar panels (1 Viewer)

BigManStraker

Free Member
Feb 8, 2012
Bristol
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
I've recently bought a Euramobil 500 Sport, and me and my girlfriend are going off fulltiming around the UK and Europe for a year.

I was planning on staying at aires and wild camping a bit as well as visiting campsites and want to get some solar panels to keep the leisure battery topped up.

I'm currently debating getting either an 80 watt solar panel and fitting it to the roof with Silkaflex and spoiler mounts, or otherwise buying a portable 120 or 160 watt fold-out solar panel and just putting it outside aimed at the Sun for a few hours each day.

I can see pros and cons to both options, and I was just wondeing what other more experienced motorhomers do, and which option you'd recommend.

Are solar panels easy to fit to the motorhome roof yourself and link up to the leisure battery? Will Silkaflex hold a solar panel securely to the roof, even at 60 mph on a motorway? Has anyone ever had a solar panel stolen off their roof? And will I get a lot more electricity from an 80 watt roof mounted horizontal solar panel than from a 160 watt portable that I can aim directly at the Sun for a few hours each day?

Thanks, I'm sure you'll be able to point me in the right direction as to which option I should take

wivvy's dad

Free Member
Jun 22, 2010
Funster No
MH
Transit LWB Hi-Top PVC
Exp
On and Off since '98
Where would you store the fold-out 160 watt panel(s) when not in use? That's a mighty big panel or two

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
You will get more out of a portable than fixed panel so long as you can move it round during the day. With our previous van we used a 50w portable but had an 80w panel fixed to our current one. 80w fixed is approx equivalent to 50w portable but more convenient as no storage on the move and no need to reposition.