POI on to garmin

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by lorger, Jun 26, 2010.

  1. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    7,545
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi I am tring to load poi's on to my garmin nuvi and have no idea what im doing:Rofl1:

    I have downloaded the poi from website to my pc and then put them in to my garmin in the poi folder but when i go in they are not there any ideas what im doing wrong.

    Gerry
     
  2. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
  3. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    7,545
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Yes i am but when it asks me to find files i want to loads on it wont do it i am trying to load the campsites from archies website when i download them do i need to do anything to them.

    Cheers gerry
     
  4. mgdav

    mgdav

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Hi Gerry,
    I take it you have downloaded the manual from here:
    http://www8.garmin.com/support/download.jsp
    This should explain how to download the POI Loader.
    I have a Nuvi 1490T and your new POI may be under "Extras". (Go to "Where to", and scroll to "Extras", not "Points of Interest").
    The only other possibility I can think of, is to check if it is the correct file, ie. csv files (Microsoft Office Excel Comma Separated Values Files).
    You can change the files here if need be:
    http://www.poieditor.com/
    Hope this helps.
     
  5. motorhomer

    motorhomer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    If you are using the POI loader it should all work fine.

    A couple of points to note:

    The POI loader replicates what you have in the pC folder to the garmin - ie it overwrites anything it had previously put on the garmin.

    Secondly, MGDAV is correct, these POI's are not the same as the "standard" POI's and are NOT located under POI's, they are under Extras.

    Done this many times with my garmin, all OK.
     
  6. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    7,545
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi All thanks for the replys firstly i have managed to put some on somehow lol but i dont have any extras folder and as said it did clear my exsisting poi's so how do i update it now without losing these ones can i create a folder on my nuvi.

    Cheers
    Gerry
     
  7. mgdav

    mgdav

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Hi Gerry,
    I keep mine in their own folder (labelled, KEEP POI, incase I delete them), on the laptop and if I need to add new POIs, I add them to this folder.
    I can then add them as a whole folder to the Garmin, thus not losing any POI's.
     
  8. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    7,545
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi everyone

    Thanks for your replys still struggling a bit i have lost all my speed cams and wondered how i get them back also when i download on to my garmin can i select where it goes or does it just send it to poi. Last question when downloading poi to pc do i understand right that i should store them all together

    Thx Gerry
     
  9. gj1023

    gj1023 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Gerry

    Just create a folder called "POI" then inside this folder create sub folders, for whatever POI`s you download. ie Campsites . The more you download the more folders you can create .


    I have many, ones for " food" (Toby carvery , Weatherspoons etc) Shops ( Aldi Argos etc)


    Just connect your garmin via USB to PC. Fire uo POI loader and let it find your Sat Nav. Keep clicking next. Then direct it to the " POI" folder you have created, click ok and it will overite what is on your satnav and put the POI folder and sub folders on your sat nav.
     
Loading...

Share This Page