please help

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by dawny, May 28, 2012.

  1. dawny

    dawny Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    newcastle upon tyne
    Hope someone can help me. I have just bought a motorhome which has a satelite dish, i cannot use a normal free view and need a satelite digital box. Please could someone tell me which one and what the heck it is>:BigGrin:
     
  2. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    If it`s an Oyster dish or similar... All you should need is a normal "Sky Box" the same as you have at home...

    Then just take your card with you..:thumb:

    I may be wrong.. :RollEyes:
     
  3. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    More info please. Make/model of dish or what type e.g. self seeking/dome/portable?
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,471
    Likes Received:
    16,920
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  5. dawny

    dawny Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    newcastle upon tyne
    The van is in storage as a bit big for the drive, but
    I think it is a oyster dish? There is a handle in. The
    Wardrobe you wind around and it erects into a white
    Like sky dish. I don't want to faf around just have
    Something perminently left. Sorry doing this in iPhone with
    No glasses!
     
  6. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    I use a NETA free to air.. works fine

    I have a NETA system and that runs on free to air and works fine... it is matched to a domed unit that is full automatic and seeks out the satellite's on it's own.. you can choose from thousands of channels - all free... but we tend to have the usual 30 or so regular ones.. and most work way down int he South of France as well as the UK.

    need to make sure I watch Silk on BBC1 next Tuesday when I am away.. I know I can get a good signal from the site I am going to in France.. just one hour time difference to remember.

    Bob
     
  7. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Hi Dawny, you should have stayed in chat last night we would have sorted you out, hee hee. It sounds to me that you like me when I got my van have no idea about satellite at all and probably don't have it at home either. i will try to explain. the dish you have appears to be a manual one in other words you have to set it up every time you park up as the direction of the van will have changed. sorry but no way out of that one. The freesat channels need a decoder box to collect the signals from the sat and display them on your TV. There are 12v and 240V versions of these boxes, for the 240V type you need either to be on an electric hookup (EHU) on a site or have a small inverter that changes 12V DC into 240V AC 150W is sufficient. If by any chance you have sky at home you could just take your sky box and card, otherwise a look around ebay for 12V sat decoder will bring up lots of choices. Make sure you get one with a manual to tell you how to set it up. Learning to align the dish is another matter, it can be done in a matter of mins once you know how. Until then tell the kids to wear ear muffs and send everyone out of range of flying objects. The easiest way would be for someone to show you. If you want to come down here I could show you my foolproof method. Good luck whatever and don't give up. Satellite remains the same throughout northern Europe you just need to align the dish. Terrestrial digital on the other hand has to be completely set up in every location you go to (assuming you have a signal, hee hee).
     
  8. dawny

    dawny Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    newcastle upon tyne
    [There are 12v and 240V versions of these boxes, for the 240V type you need either to be on an electric hookup (EHU) on a site or have a small inverter that changes 12V DC into 240V AC 150W is sufficient.

    Thank you so much!! I have been looking at these inverters and they are quite expensive, the man at halfords said I needed a 300w??? To run a tv? This is a minefield of confusion!:Laughing::cry:
     
  9. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    what you want is something like this.

    [ame]http://www.amazon.co.uk/Digital-Satellite-Receiver-channels-caravan/dp/B000XNXWPY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1338294266&sr=8-1[/ame]
     
  10. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,658
    Likes Received:
    6,826
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Hi Dawny,

    It sounds like you may have a Maxview crank up dish. Roger's advice re alignment is true, ie, no way out of that one, but once well practised, you'll be able to lock into the satellite signal quicker than those with motorised dishes. :Wink:

    12v digital satellite receivers are like gold dust, and hold their price well. A 240v FTA or Freesat receiver used via a small 75 watt inverter, is often the cheapest way to go. 12v LCD/LED TVs are common place now, and can be purchased for around the £100 mark.

    If you can join a meet or rally, there will be plenty of "hands on" Funsters to help you.

    Good luck with it all, and when you've sorted the satellite receiver and TV out, it'll be something else that will test your knowledge and patience. Just ask away though. :thumb:

    Cheers,

    Jock.

    P.S. Welcome to Fun.
     
  11. ciderman

    ciderman Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    derbyshire
    for a 150watt inverter maplins about 30ish quid :thumb:
     
  12. the stig

    the stig Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    687
    Location:
    Grimsby
    failing all that, then just buy a bottle of red,:wine: and sit out and watch the stars!:Rofl1:

    welcome btw:welcome:
     
  13. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Hi, Dawney, if your interested I have a spare Fortistar Free to air box lying about.
    Yours if you just cover the postage
    PM me if interested:Smile:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. raysalaugh

    raysalaugh Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    blackburn
    help please

    Hi Dawny,
    Are you sure it's not a Status T V aeriel?, can be a bit confusing.

    Ray
     
  15. dawny

    dawny Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    newcastle upon tyne
    That would be amazing! Do you have a. PayPal
    Account so i can send the money to you?Thank you so much!
     
  16. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    if you go to Halfroids they will be expencive. However
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEW-300W-...911?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item2a1dff159f
    £13.49 inclusive of postage is not expencive to mind:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
    however I have used a 150W jobbie to run my 15" TV and Sat box for the last 3 years and they are a bit cheaper
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/150W-Inve...?pt=UK_Sound_Vision_Other&hash=item5d3213c1a9
    a better quality one and still only £16.99
     
  17. dawny

    dawny Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    newcastle upon tyne
    Thank you so much Snitrats for the box, it is really really appreciated! Hopefully this weekend will not be such a trauma :Rofl1:
     
  18. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,471
    Likes Received:
    16,920
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    how do you come to that conclusion Jock......

    click the link to eBay...new receivers start at £29...and every one on these two pages is 12volt

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_trkparms=65%253A12%257C66%253A2%257C39%253A1%257C72%253A6003&rt=nc&_nkw=fta+satellite+receiver&_trksid=p3286.c0.m2000018.l2552&_pgn=1
     
  19. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,658
    Likes Received:
    6,826
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    What I meant John, was the likes of the Pace 12v Sky Satellite Receiver, which I should have mentioned earlier. At one time, that was the only 12v receiver money could buy. Obviously things have moved on as your link clearly shows.

    Cheers,

    Jock.
     
  20. joner8888

    joner8888 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    somerset
    I have just fitted a free to air tv/dvd.
    Also have a portable sat dish, i have the signal ,tuned the tv in to dvb,but all i seem to get is Spanish channels :Eeek:
    I have been through most of the menus,found a Muslem channel, but i can`t find BBC ect!
    It says Astra sat i am tuned to.

    HElp :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page