Pioneer sat nav

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Middy42, Sep 15, 2014.

  1. Middy42

    Middy42 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Fleetwood
    Morning all, does anyone have one of the above systems, expensive I know but lots of POIs, but I want to know if Aires and Campsites are loaded if anyone has that info. Thanks Barrie
     
  2. jamesvanbitz

    jamesvanbitz Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Taunton & East Sussex
    You have many options on the Pioneer range. You can either decide on the Avic-F960DAB or the Avic-F160DAB which have as you mentioned loads of poi's but they do, yes have a number of campsites already listed in the current sofware..

    OR you can decide on a AVH-3600DAB head unit or a AVH-7500BT motorised screen which is a simple CD/DVD/ Bluetooth head unit where you can then add the.. Pioneers Avic-F160 navigation Camper module.

    You can then input the dimensions of the motorhome and also add in your own POI's or campsites etc...? they are all very similar in price and all very good.
    I have the latest 7" Avic-F60 navigation system which is superb (y) and also having DAB+ digital radio its gets over the poor FM reception problem that cant be resolved!!

    hope this helps...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,356
    Likes Received:
    25,066
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    I'm very tempted..... Have an App radio 2 which is OK but a really terrible radio which is utterly carp. works well otherwise, though so it is a lot of money for what would basically be a better radio with POI's added. Unless we win the lottery, in which case we will be down in taunton getting that plus a growler fitted to the new Frankia/Concorde/whatever ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Palmeat

    Palmeat Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Eddie Vanbitz has recently installed a Pioneer combo - AVH-X3600 head unit and separate DAB AVIC-F160 'Truck' sat nav. Have since been to the West Country, Port Grimaud and currently in Gower. I don't have any Campsites/Aires pre-loaded (if I do, I don't use them!), but you van add POI's via SD card. Pricey (c£1k total), but works very well on all fronts. Significantly better than my previous Snooper system. Hope this helps.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. canopus

    canopus Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    3,199
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    When we bought our new to us Concorde it had a Pioneer AVIC-X1R head unit with a CDX P670 CD unit. However, the SAT NAV software (CD's I think) were not with it.
    Radio reception is dire despite changing the aerial. Anyone any advice on how to improve the radio or where to get the SAT NAV software from without paying an arm and a leg?
     
  6. jamesvanbitz

    jamesvanbitz Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Taunton & East Sussex
    The radio reception I'm afraid has been an on going problem throughout the years with no real fix. We our selves have tried many, many, many aerials over the years with boosters etc.. with no joy. Blaupoint make a windscreen mounted aerial which seems to be the best out of a bad bunch!!

    If you do decide to change the unit then DAB radio is a great fix and even with the simple windscreen mounted aerials they work very well and remember the signal is only getting better and better throughout Europe..

    Pioneer stopped making the discs (with the latest mapping) for your unit in 2008. The disc set will cost you in the region of £280-£300 if you can still source a new one so quite expensive :(. I contacted Pioneer the other week for a customer and they don't have any..

    My advise would be to look on Ebay and hopefully come across one there..

    hope this helps...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Middy42

    Middy42 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Fleetwood
    I don't have one yet, and if not loaded with Aires etc will probably not buy one. Barrie
     
  8. jamesvanbitz

    jamesvanbitz Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Taunton & East Sussex
    I understand..

    The F160 Camper nav module have campsites and motorhome stop overs.. do remember you can input your own preferred Aires and favourite locations? All done from your laptop to the SD card..

    James
     
  9. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,716
    Likes Received:
    38,594
    Location:
    Dorset
    We have one in our`s..... runs circles round our new`ish tom-tom..

    Has all the aires and sites... places of interest, shops, garages for LPG, etc.. just about every thing thanks to the previous owner...

    But this trip has proved on an occasion that it needs updating.. it`s 18 months or so old, and doubt it has been updated since new..

    Has all the sizes and weight of the M.H.. installed...

    If we ever sell the M.Home.... I`m going to take it out... :wink::rofl:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    Bucks
    We have the AVIC f130, if you are thinking of buying or fitting one or the f160 then bear in mind,
    • the sd cards used are almost irreplaceable, the cost is the equivalent of a new unit.
    • To update the poi you have to remove the sd card, so it has to be easily accessible
    • Map updates are not cheap, often you get a free update with the unit but it has to be used within 30 days.
    They are accurate, easy to follow and use, but having owned one i would now go for a seperate sat nav unit Snooper etc something with free updates and easily updateable.

    Have tried Copliot on a large phone 5in screen works well, but was not the caravan version. All the free nav i tried have had a few problems with map data or or the device.
     
  11. jemhorn

    jemhorn Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Bideford, Devon
    I have a Pioneer head unit with F130 sat nav. Also there is a reversing camera attached. It is a great unit that sits in the double height radio slot on the Fiat dash. Providing the F130 unit (sat nav part) is accessible (mine's in the lift up flat on the fiat dash) there is no problem. You do need a PC (not Apple) to upgrade and upload your own POI's. All information on the SD card is backed up to the PC so you always keep a copy. You have the option to set up for your size and weight of motorhome. As old-mo said it will not be sold when I change motorhomes it's just too good! The downside is of course the cost, you pays your money etc. etc... PM me f you want more info.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Wixie

    Wixie Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Couldn't agree more jemhorn. I have the same unit in my Ducato except Rapido installed mine in the roof of the glovebox! Not quite so accessible.
    I recently "lost" my SD card inside the dashboard (don't ask) and after contacting Pioneer got this reply regarding making a copy on a new SD card from my backup:
    "copying your backup file to a new SD-card would not work, as your current licenses are not compatible with the new SD-card, only the original one.
    Backups are used to restore to an earlier state, in case there is a problem with one of the updates, or some necessary contents were uninstalled from the unit"

    I have now "found" my SD card after taking half the dashboard to pieces! Be warned.

    We are just back from Croatia and the sat nav worked beautifully all the way there and back. Not once was it threatened with expulsion out of the window! It even warns about traffic jams ahead and provides alternative routes, which I hadn't realised was available on this system. Highly recommended.
     
  13. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10,991
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    I use and rely on my Pioneer with the truck navigation. We we set off of our travels the RV is 32 foot long and we tow a RIB on a trailer that adds another 27 foot :Eeek: This year on the way back from the South of France the Pioneer took me to the West of Paris en route to Calais. Our friends travelling loosely with us didn't take notice of theirs and ran into heavy traffic which cost them three hours delay. It is frankly the first system that I have had which I trust sufficiently to defie my wife, sat with a map "You don't have life traffic data Darling lol"

    We've added the Weaco/Dometic Twin lens camera so we have the best of both worlds as we have a downward facing camera for hooking up and close manovering, and can look over the trailer for reversing or looking down the road when driving.

    I also like the Bluetooth audio streaming for listening to music when in the van, both when driving or just in and around the motorhome.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. jemhorn

    jemhorn Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Bideford, Devon
    Hi Eddie, Mine did the same when we came up from Auxerre heading for Calais. I thought it would have avoided Paris and routed via Troyes. Had a nice view of the Eiffel Tower though! Is it much of a job to get the Weaco camera wired up?
     
  15. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10,991
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    No you do need to use two Amp100 switching boxes though. That way you get what I consider (personal opinion) the best truck navigation, built in double DIN unit with the best twin lens camera on the market.

    I accept that there are, cheap ebay head units, that you can buy, and not pay tax or VAT on. They use knock off software. You can also buy cheap cameras to plug into them.

    You can also buy crap Chinese motorhomes lol and not everyone wants one of those either.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Dub Dog
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    386
  2. SUE L
    Replies:
    37
    Views:
    863
  3. monaco/frankia
    Replies:
    47
    Views:
    1,381
  4. Ovalball
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    238
  5. Jac Sprat
    Replies:
    90
    Views:
    3,125

Share This Page