Peugeot Boxer wheel bearing replacement in France (1 Viewer)

streetdaddy

Free Member
Mar 13, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Currently in Cote d'Azure (Antibes) and wheel bearings are on their way out on my 1998 Peugeot Boxer. The local dealership aren't able to help me until September 26th at the earliest, and I went to every truck and general mechanic I could find in a 20km radius and nobody could help me :cry: either they wouldn't/couldn't work on Peugeot's, or didn't have the tools - the language barrier didn't help either...

If anyone has any suggestions of where I might be able to get this work done in a reasonable timeframe, or what sort of garage/mechanic I should be looking for, I would be highly appreciative of any information!

At the end of my tether, and with a long drive to South Portugal I don't want to end up stuck on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere...

OP
OP
streetdaddy

streetdaddy

Free Member
Mar 13, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
I already have all my translated questions for the endless phone calls I made to various garages and dealerships, however it's all a bit useless when they respond in French and I can't understand a word they're saying... Of the 10+ places I visited in person, I only found one person who spoke english, and he sent me to two places who couldn't help me... Not their fault of course, I just never imagined it would be so difficult to get work done on a Peugeot in France!

Currently sending a canned translated email to every garage I can find along the next 200km of our route, praying for a positive outcome...

The problem with wheel bearing is that if you don't fix them early, they lead to bigger and more expensive problems... arrgh :Doh:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Are you sure its the wheel bearing,it could be a UJ jount on a front weel drive.