Pc help please

Discussion in 'Computers' started by lorger, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi
    My laptop has 2 hard drives on it c and d c is now becoming full so when i try to download stuff it tells me i dont have enough room so how do i make it download to D Drive or is it better to drag all the stuff from c to d.

    Think i have explained what i think i mean :Rofl1::Rofl1:

    Thanks in advance
    Gerry
     
  2. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    Gerry,

    If you are using google chrome you can change the download location in "options" "Under the Bonnet" which you access from the spanner on the top right

    If you are using Firefox you can change the location in "option" "Content"

    If IE9 change the location in "View Downloads" "Options"

    If using Safari its under "preferences" "General"

    John
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    just checked mine and i have 'C' hard drive and 'Q' hard disc which appears to be linked to microsoft office.

    from what i can work out the 'Q' drive is solely for microsoft office and cant be user accessed...even with administrator priviledges.
     
  4. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
    Buy a cheap external hard drive and trasfer you c drive files to that....they only cost about £40...
     
  5. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Cheers for that doing it just now with under the bonnet John so thanks.

    Acting strange i no good with pc's but why would i need another hard drive when my d drive is 8gb and empty or am i missing something.

    Gerry
     
  6. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    7,774
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Hi Gerry
    On my PC the D drive is a part of the C drive partioned off for backing up (imaging) the C drive there are not 2 drives.
     
  7. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi Gooney

    If i look at my computer it shows them as 2 separate drives and c drive is full while d is empty but as i say useless with computers so could be totally wrong.

    Gerry
     
  8. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    7,774
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Hi Gerry
    Have you done a back up of your computer? I suspect if your D drive is empty, you haven't. On my computer D drive is showing about 2.5 gb used of 13gb space allocated from the hard drive for back up. You can regain lost space on your computer by defragmenting the disc, deleting files you dont use any more and making sure your recycle bin is empty. If failing this your disc is still full you probably need to add an additional portable hard drive and move files onto this. If you look on Amazon now you can get a 1Tb external hard dive for about £40, this is probably about 5 times the capacity of your original C drive.
     
  9. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Even if you don't need the space, it is worth it just to have a separate back up of all your files.

    Just in case.........:thumb:
     
  10. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Excellent advice...

    You can reload the operating system but, without the data....
     
  11. GuitarDave

    GuitarDave Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Hard drive

    I know of your problem. Manufacturers are partitioning the hard drive with 2 sections and the operating system is usually on the smaller of the 2 sections. So unless you tell it otherwise the computer will try and cram everything on the C section. It's a real pain in the *rse and I would not put up with it on one of my computers so I downloaded a free program from the web. which moved the size of the C partition untill it was almost the total size of the hard drive and then all was well. Sorry I cant remember the name of the program but you could just search for partitioning tool.
    :Smile:
     
  12. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Partitionmagic has always sorted it for me and my customers...:thumb:
     
  13. Janine

    Janine Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829
    Likes Received:
    7,768
    Location:
    Sunny Shropshire
  14. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Have you undertaken any housekeeping on C drive,,, Tmp file deletion etc..


    ShiftZZ
     
Loading...

Share This Page