Papajohn Heeeeeelp please

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Munchie, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Mu manager has one of those portable twin tubs.
    She was asking the question today would it run off our 150w inverter that I use for charging my camera batteries.
    I looked at the machine and the spinner is rated at "input 90w"
    and it is the spinner she wants to use so I said yes.
    Pffft it goes round but only just!!

    Munchies not being very bright I thought ask John he will know before I lash out on a 5000w inverter.

    So can you help please? :Blush:

    P.S. The machine is fused at 3 amp if that is relevant.:Smile:
     
  2. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    3 amp at 240Volts is 750W, its a wonder you still have an inverter munchie
    even at 90W your inverter will draw 7.5 amps.
    That kind of current requires serious sized cables, hence it barely turning
     
  3. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    OK I didn't say it was 3amp just fused at that. Also why does it say on the machine label "input 90watt" ?
     
  4. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,843
    Likes Received:
    22,414
    Location:
    Moving around
    Flippin eck, Steph. Just get Ken to stand outside the van swinging the clothes round over his head..... we women can't be doing with all this technical stuff can we. :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Morning Ken.

    90 watts isnt a lot but it could be the start up current causing the problem.

    it may need twice that until it gets up to speed.

    modified sine-wave inverters don't like motors which may also, more likely, be the problem so even a big 'un may not work properly.

    a pure sine-wave will run anything its rated for.
     
  6. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Hellfire you really are blonde!!! Washing n stuff is my managers hobby:Rofl1:

    Sorry Joy could not resist that.:RollEyes:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    it will have a 3 amp fuse 'cos that is generally the smallest you can get 'over the counter'

    still suspect its the sine-wave causing the problem.
     
  8. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    1.5sqmm will carry 10amps over a short run. :thumb:
     
  10. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Come on John, the 90 watts is at 240v ...... Ohms Law

    Doug...
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    it will, in so far as the cable won't melt, but not without serious volt drop, and hence problems with the motor going slow..

    In this example.. 7.5A , cable length say, 2mt requires 6mm cable ..

    useful cable sizer for DC power

    http://www.solar-wind.co.uk/cable-sizing-DC-cables.html
     
  12. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,210
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I have one of these machines and I also have a500w inverter (cheap one, not pure sine wave). I have not tried running the spinner off the inverter but am planning to call in on the van (in storage) tomorrow to check the mousetraps so I will try it.
     
  13. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Err sorry to cause an argument. :Doh:

    OHMS law what am I missing please (see snip)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. makems

    makems Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    10,674
    Location:
    Ingleby Barwick,,Teesside
    We have one of these machines and run it from a 300w pure sine wave inverter with no problems at all.
     
  15. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,664
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Thank you very much for that, it answers my question and also reinforces what Papajohn said which is why I direced my question his way.
    So again thanks to both of you. :thumb:
     
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i'll shut me gob...i'm allitle,pi$$ed and cant argue
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    this is not DC power related Jim....the question was regarding an inverter and its ability to power a washing machine/drier.

    a 150w inverter usually comes supplied with a 12v connecting cable pre installed and, as such, should be of adequate size to provide the power need to run the inverter at the stated max output.
    at 150 watt it should be rated at 12.5 amps


     
  18. niggle

    niggle Banned - Rule 1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    SOUTH AND FRANCE
    :Cool: just a thought,,, while in dallas 2 weeks ago i borrowed my brother in laws American Tradition W/3 coach m/h it had a 110 volt twin tub washer,,, also ran off lasure batts as well as gen/mains,,,is it not worth gettin one of these ??? just an idear,,,im thinking of it,,dam good wash :thumb:
     
  19. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    90 watts is 90 watts regardless of voltage.

    120watts @ 12v = 10a

    120watts @ 120v = 1amp

    120 watts @ 240v = .5amps

    watts will never change but volts and amps will.
     
  20. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Mornin' John

    I wasn't answering the OP question but pointing out the importance of cable sizing for the DC side of an inverter as some don't come with power cables.. this wasn't made clear in the OP. Your first reply was spot on ..

    For information only >>

    Inverter Selection
     
Loading...

Share This Page