Pace Javelin 12 Volt Box

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Gazza333, May 17, 2015.

  1. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    ok so I have a dish and an avtex TV with built in sat. What if anything would a pace 12v javelin give me that I don't already have. I know there's some debate over pairing cards. I am on sky but don't want to take my home sky box away with me as it's very tempremental .
    I travel UK and Europe a lot.
     
  2. RowleyBirkinQC

    RowleyBirkinQC Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Location:
    Dazed & Confused
    I guess it depends what you watch on Sky which is not available on free to air satellite channels (eg movies, sports etc) that you would rather not be without. Last time I paired a Sky card to a Pace Javelin, which was a few years ago now, it was an interesting experience as the Sky CSRs were unfamiliar with said box and had to get an "expert" to help complete the pairing. We no longer have TV through Sky, so just run with the Avtex TV and FTA channels, with a HD loaded with movies.

    Then there is the question of where in Europe you want to watch and size of the dish required etc...
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2015
  3. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    A Sky box without any sky card will get the same free to air channels that any fta (or tv with built in sat receiver) will get.

    But if you want the sky pay channels, then you will need to take the sky box and card.
    .
    Pairing is only required if you want to watch the Sky premium channels - Sky Sports, Sky Movies and Sky HD channels.
    With no pairing you will be able to watch all the non premium channels.
    Most of the Sky pay channels should be available across most of western Europe
    But the non Sky main uk channels may not.
     
  4. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    You see this is the bit I'm unsure about as some say as above and others say you only get the free channels and must pair the card which I don't want to do to be honest

    I'm kinda drifting away from its usefulness in the van as I just want it for mainly discovery type channels
     
  5. davanne

    davanne Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    7,126
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    My card works fine with pace box in van without being paired ...I get all the normal sky channels including the discovery channels
     
  6. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Discovery channels are not premium channels, so will work in any sky box without pairing.
    (Note : Discovery HD is a premium channel, so will require pairing)
     
  7. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,947
    Likes Received:
    7,696
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    Mine too curently in Italy works perfect except cant watch Games of Thrones tonight. Parked under trees to escape the heat and buggred if I'm moving just for that.
     
  8. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ha ha now I've swung the other way and decided to get one, the one I had my eye on on eBay has been sold :-(
     
  9. jonsea

    jonsea Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Worcester
    If you need one I have but no 12volt or mains cables I think you can get them of ebay let me know john
     
  10. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Well I have my sky box now and can confirm my house sky card works without pairing. I don't have movies or sky sports anyway so can't comment but I do have discovery. Dave etc just like at home
     
Loading...

Share This Page