Oyster spinning!!!!

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by colyboy, Dec 12, 2014.

  1. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    664
    You may have seen my request for a Oyster "black box" with no luck on he. So I had to bite the bullet and buy a new one from Oyster who have been VER VERY HELPFUL. I now have the new box and installed it and everything is working.

    BUT:-

    The dish will not lock on to Astra 2. I know I can wait until Tuesday when Oyster's tech man is back but I am keen to get it going ASAP. Any suggestions please

    colyboy
     
  2. Chipster

    Chipster Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Is your LNB good? Correctly plugged? Oyster Box set to Astra?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,604
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    is it set to the new Sat or still on the old one?
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. SandJ

    SandJ Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,614
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    North Yorks
    Set it to Astra 1 and then manually adjust to Astra 2
    The settings can be found using

    dishpointer.com

    Just enter info
    Postcode or address and what satellite
    It then gives you the settings so you can manually set dish
    You may need an update for receiver
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. Tea Bag

    Tea Bag Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    2,306
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi.
    I know nothing...but. Had an Oyster dish start spinning while on a site Unplugged every thing,waited 10 mins plugged it all back together,sorted ? Don't ask me why.
    Chap passing by asked if the dish was working,he thought at the rate it was going round,either it was a stealth helicopter i had,or multiple missiles were incoming LOL This may,may not help,but worked for me.
    Tea Bag
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  6. angusboy

    angusboy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    somerset
    hi could you let me know please regards steve
     
  7. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,336
    Likes Received:
    17,057
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    I have to ask the question. Why did you replace the box. If the dish is the old analogue it wont work with a digital box.
     
  8. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    664
    Snowbird. My old "magic box/black box" is u s . Oyster sent it back to Germany to get it sorted but no luck. Had to buy in new which looks the same and all fitting are the same. I think I will have to wait until Tuesday to have a chat with Oyster

    colyboy
     
  9. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,336
    Likes Received:
    17,057
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    When was the last time the old Oyster worked ?.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    664
    Thanks everyone for your help. Tried all of the above and it now works. Tried unplugging, stop and starting etc etc. Then put it up and for got about it, went and had lunch after an hour went to see what was happening only to find it had hooked on to Astra 2. Tried it several times since and still locks on. Thanks have A GOOD Christmas an good and save travels in the New Year.
    colyboy
     
Loading...

Share This Page