Free Member
Jan 24, 2012
Leeds
Funster No
MH
Hiring
Exp
Hi Everyone!

So here I am planning a family holiday in accommodation on wheels and I need some serious help!

I am a complete novice; let's assume for the purposes of this exercise that I know very very little.

I would really welcome any tips and recommendations to help make our holiday a success. But first I'm guessing you need to know a little about us:

The non-negotiables:

We are a family of four - me, and my two boys then aged almost 4 and 6. Wait, hang on, we've forgotten someone - oh yes, the wife. :Doh:

For our first outing we are hiring a massive Burstner Elegance from a very nice lady in Harrogate. :thumb:

We are holidaying in France for a fortnight in August 2012. Alas we can't do otherwise as both the oldest boy and the wife are in school - he as pupil, she as teacher.

Up for debate:

My initial thought had been to drive down - breaking the journey with stops en route (both there and back) - to Ile de Re. It is supposed to be lovely and the fact that we could cycle everywhere once there was very appealing. But I am wondering if this is too far to drive and whether a two site holiday staying a little further North (say around Normandy) would be better.

I am minded to go by Eurotunnel as I believe that this is the most cost effective way of crossing the Channel in a campervan.

I would really welcome the benefit of your collective wisdom. Recommendations on campsites (either en route to Ile de Re or as destinations in their own right) that are suitable for children, say with a swimming pool and some cycle routes and perhaps the odd day out within easy (cycling / walking) reach would be great.