Our First Winter arriving soon, Help (1 Viewer)

4matt

Free Member
Jan 15, 2013
East Riding
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie in my second year.
We are wondering about the amount of time away we will get while the cold winter weather is here. It could mean we don't get to use our Van for some months. What would those who 'Lay up' their vans recommend as the best way to keep everything in tip top condition throughout those damp winter months while the van sits on the drive not being used.

I am curious to know how many other MH owners don't use their vans over the Winter. We would like think we will but as things stand we haven't really had much chance in the past to get away in the winter while we Caravan'd.

So Over inflate the tyres and give it a run every couple of weeks to the Supermarket. Is that enough to keep it sweet? Anything else?:Blush:

estcres

Free Member
Oct 9, 2007
Sunny Bournemouth
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since 2005
If possible, connect to an electric supply (EHU) and keep the batteries charged, you can also put a small electric heater in the vehicle which helps prevent damp.

Make sure you drain all the pipework and water storage tanks and open all taps, shower head etc. Ensure any gas bottles are turned off.

Give the vehicle an occasional run, as you say, every 2 weeks, get the coolant and oils turning, ensure the brakes don't become stuck also the clutch.

I used to give mine a good 30 mile run which got the heat distributed around the vehicle.

Some people remove their cushions and seat covers and store them in the house, we used to do this but recently have left them in the vehicle.

Of course, you could always pack up for the Winter and head South. (Not always practical for some people)

OllieUK

Free Member
Jun 23, 2013
Ramsgate
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr E520
Exp
Since 2009