one for the "Nerds"!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Munchie, Oct 19, 2014.

  1. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,670
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    We have two Asus pooters running Windows 8.1.
    When on wi fi at a site windows updates fine.

    When on a mi fi even with a full signal they will not!!!

    Anyone know why???
     
  2. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7,082
    Likes Received:
    12,079
    Location:
    goole
  3. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,670
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    This happens on my SFR mi fi in France and now on a Vodaphone one in Portugal :crying1:
     
  4. androidGB

    androidGB Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Bristol
    I'd like to think it was deliberate.

    On mifi you are paying for your data, and there may well be occasions when you would not want to use up your precious data allowance on Windows updates

    Andrew
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. phase3begins

    phase3begins Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    Nr Whitby
    Can't remember the details but I think some sites (CC?) prevent more than a single logon per card.
     
  6. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Scotjimland one told me the answer to that one. It's because the data is not coming in fast enough on a MI FI ,causing the data to interupt and therefore corupt the data. I think that's what he said anyway.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,670
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Tis fast enough to update managers windows 7 machine!!
     
  8. movan

    movan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,889
    Likes Received:
    22,580
    Location:
    Moving around
    Now my luvlies.... you know I am an expert on these things and could tell you the answer ... but I always think it is better and more mind building for you to work it out for yourselves .. so I am not going to tell you. :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Ok. Can't be that then!!
    sorry can't help further.
     
  10. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,670
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Pfft!!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    ohh you have a long memory .. could be the case but, I rather think in this case it's Window's 8 settings .. not having W8 I can't check .. but a quick Google comes up with a few suggestions.. try Googling "windows 8 updates using 3g"

     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,670
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Thanks Jim will look later.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page