Omnistep again

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by stephen harwood, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. stephen harwood

    stephen harwood Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    372
    Location:
    bridgwater
    Hi guys we have power to switch, power to step fuses ok motor working step working in and out when hardwired by my fitter but will not work on switch, doing are heads in any ideas please need step working as wife has mobility problems kind regards steve
     
  2. JFD

    JFD Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Surrey
    Maybe I'm being thick, but doesn't what you describe mean that either the switch is duff, or the wiring from switch to step motor has failed?

    Maybe try taking a lead from the feed into the switch, direct to the step motor as a test. If this works, then move the lead to the output of the switch and, again, to the step motor, using the switch. If this fails, it's likely the switch, if it works, that points to the wiring between switch and step motor. If both work, then that would indicate it's one of the connectors you will have had to disconnect for the tests.

    Good luck!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. stephen harwood

    stephen harwood Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    372
    Location:
    bridgwater
    thanks jfd think we tried most of this but will show fitter these posts regards steve
     
  4. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,853
    Likes Received:
    6,509
    Location:
    south shields
    the rocker switch has power you say but it also provides the circuit to battery negative... if nothing is working when switch is operated and power is there, check the lead from the back or the switch to battery negative ...
    andy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. stephen harwood

    stephen harwood Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    372
    Location:
    bridgwater
    thanks andy will show fitter this regards
     
  6. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,853
    Likes Received:
    6,509
    Location:
    south shields
    heres a diag of the wiring arrangement on an omni slide out just in case its of any use.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  7. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,061
    Likes Received:
    7,112
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Sounds like a similar problem I had on our Autocruise which turned out to be a faulty Sargent EC400 power supply ... replaced unit and fault solved!

    Worth a call to Sargent, assuming yours is one of their units.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. stephen harwood

    stephen harwood Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    372
    Location:
    bridgwater
    yes it is thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page