Omni Step not working - low volts????

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by icantremember, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,120
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    My Omni step has been messing around, working sometimes and not others.

    I have replaced the step with a new one but still not working.

    All the batteries are fully charged.

    I checked the voltage at the fuse and getting full 12.7v (also checked the fuse)

    On checking voltage at the operating switch I'm only getting around 4.8v.

    I am assuming there is probably a poor connection somewhere but before I try to trace the wiring would like any advice please to confirm this is the likely problem or any other ideas.
     
  2. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Take it off / strip down clean and refit :thumb: they are notorious for getting road crud on them
    Terry
     
  3. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,120
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Thanks Terry, but it's a brand new step & never been on the road.

    It is doing exactly the same as the old one which had some damage.

    The problem must surely be down to the reduced voltage?
     
  4. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    If that's the case then check the leccy bits and earth:thumb:
    Someone will be along shortly who may have a better idea where to check first
    What did you do with old step?
    Terry
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  5. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,120
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Thanks again Terry.

    I still have the old step at present as a spare ..... I'm pretty sure it is ok except for a little visual damage.
     
  6. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    Brian,

    If you are getting low voltage one side of the swith it's the switch if it's both sides it's the feed, so work your way back. :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. shunter

    shunter Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Kent the white cliffs end
    It does sound like you have a earth fault Brian
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. mogbl

    mogbl Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Castletownbere West Cork
    step

    I had the same problem although I did not check the voltage at the switch. Everything seemed to work fine except the step. It would work now and again it felt like it was sticking and the problem lay with the motor. Contacted the company who susgested new batteries. The batteries wer about two years old. Reluctantly I put new battries in and it did solved the problem.

    Richard
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,120
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Hi Dane, cheers for that,it's both sides.

    I understand there is a relay somewhere in the system and wondered if this may be the problem.

    Brian
     
  10. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Rochester
    There should be a relay that pulls the step in if it's out and you turn the ignition on. It could well be the culprit.
     
  11. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,120
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Update on non - working Omni step

    Right, after some testing I came to the conclusion the fault lay with the Sargent psu and last week had this confirmed by an auto electrician.:cry:

    I called the Sargent support line while we were away last week and having explained the situation they arranged for a replacement exchange psu to arrive with me this morning, which it did at 0930.:thumb:

    Around an hour later after much unplugging and replugging of so many connector blocks the new unit was fitted and ... hey presto .... a working step again.:BigGrin:

    One up to Sargent Electrical Services for great customer service.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  12. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Likes Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Great stuff Brian.

    Now you have a dodgy PSU, and a new set of steps to flog. :Laughing:

    Cheers,

    Jock.
     
  13. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,120
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Hi Jock, unfortunately the dodgy PSU is an exchange unit and has to be returned but I shall keep the spare step while we have this m/home in case of any mishaps.

    All the best,

    Brian
     
  14. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,480
    Likes Received:
    5,526
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales

    You mean if something GHOSTLY were to happen to it:Wink:

    Enjoyed meeting you over the weekend.:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    986
    Location:
    kent
    My step on a brand new van with a brand new battery (which showed a full charge) didnt work properly.It turned out to be a dodgey battery and once replaced with a new one plus an additional one worked fine.Check condition of battery rather than take note of charge showing on control panel which is the mistake i made.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    7,120
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    I must admit, I quite expected a spooky black mist to appear in the van if I got any wires crossed while changing the PSU:Doh:

    It was good to meet up with you at Chester & hope to see you again soon.

    Brian
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page