Oil Consumption of the 2.8 lt. JTD engine ?

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by scotjimland, Aug 2, 2016.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Was checking my oil, the level was about mid way between Min and Max marks on the dipstick..

    Fiat manual says that there is 2.3 litres difference between the two marks..

    so I recon it used about 1 lt over 3,000 miles, driven quite hard, much of that on the French Autoroutes

    as far as I can determine, there are no oil leaks and no blue smoke from the exhaust

    I have topped up, and will keep an eye on it..

    is this normal consumption for this engine..? it has only done about 45k miles
     
  2. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Seems a lot to me Jim, even with an old tech engine I would be thinking 1 litre per 3000 miles is a lot.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    that's what I thought..

    thing is, it was serviced by Becks, just before we left, and not sure if it was on the max mark .. yes I know.. lazy.. should have checked..
     
  4. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Thats a thought Jim. I once sent a Smart car to a main agent for service and when it came back the oil level was only half way between the marks. They said it was to allow for expansion when hot :rolleyes:.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,361
    Likes Received:
    25,109
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    It is entirely possible that they put the exact amount as specified in the manual into the sump and that gives halfway up. Mine sits on halfway so quite happy about it. Some garages overfill which can be very bad for the turbo
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    thanks David

    as you know, when the oil is fresh it's damn hard to see it on the stick.. and maybe it's just this engine.. but getting a 'clean' dip is almost impossible.. so quite hard to determine the exact level..

    it was easier now that the oil is dirty.. but still difficult to get a clean dip..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. DuxDeluxe

    DuxDeluxe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    9,361
    Likes Received:
    25,109
    Location:
    Planet Zog
    Fiat alleged "Professional" seriously overfilled the van the twice I used them. Luckily from my previous employment I have a line oil sampling kit which enabled me to reduce the level. Can't remember what the book said but as the son in law said (he is a mechanic) always put the exact amount in and ignore the dipstick when doing so - the oil takes a while to circulate and bring the level on the stick up to the right level. Also he said that level ground makes a difference plus leaving it for 5 minutes after switching off (or whatever the book says) must be adhered to.

    Whatever happened to chucking it in and checking the stick?? Can't even find the dipstick on the Jag -underneath engine cover - but handbook always says use the electronic level gauge on the control stalk. First world problems again.....
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Steve

    Steve Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Location:
    Compton Berkshire
    I fill to middle of marks, milage 60k. never topped it up yet. change every 10k
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,748
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Ours , not 2.8 but 2.2 doesn't use any as far as I can tell, but it has a thing on the dash with five rings that light up to say if the oil is ok and if I fill it to the full mark on the dipstick it doesn't show the rings but says" oil high" so when changing it I don't fill it to the top on the stick and the rings are ok.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,860
    Likes Received:
    14,516
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I think its very unlikely that you are using all that oil. My 3 litre is nearly at 50k and doesn't noticeably use any oil.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    thanks all.. looks like I got all excited over nothing .. :LOL:
     
Loading...

Share This Page