Off the grid camper: what set up is everyone using?! (1 Viewer)

Jimmymac

Free Member
Feb 3, 2017
Bury
Funster No
MH
Just looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hey guys,

Myself, my partner, and our 2 year old are currently looking for a Luton van to convert for a trip around Europe with no specified end date. We want the van to be completely off grid and to install all the necessities: shower, heating, fridge, TV (more as a second screen for my work), toilet, cooler etc. This is our first van and I am looking to build it myself. I had worked as a carpenter up until a few years back and have domestic electricians and plumbers in the family who can help out.

Having been researching, I am coming up against hundreds of questions as you can imagine! There are only a few options to choose from....

I just wondered what set up people are using for their off the grid campers? Gas boilers (sealed), what pumps, gas or electric heaters or log burners, electric shower against hot water from the boiler, solar, composting toilet against chemical?!?

Also, how transferable are home electrics and plumbing to installing a camper system?

All comments appreciated and any advice for a newbie campervan converter welcome!

Many Thanks,

James

MattR

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2013
Beds
Funster No
MH
Panel van
Exp
Years
It partly depends on your budget and where you want to go.

You may find that you can get a motorhome that suits most of your needs for less than doing your own conversion.

Three people living and working in a vehicle might require more space than a conversion allows, particularly if you are living or staying in places where it wouldn't be so easy to spend most of the day outside.

I would look at left hand drive motorhomes for comparisons and visit festivals to see some of the ranges of converted vehicles that people live in.

Feb 16, 2013
uttoxeter
Funster No
MH
ambulance conversion
Exp
50 years
Hey guys,