odd dometic B3200 air conditioner behaviour (1 Viewer)

thelears

Free Member
Jun 19, 2015
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi

Whilst away in the South of France we had the air conditioner on max fan/max cooling pretty much constantly. After a period of time (anywhere between 2-4 hours) the unit would 'throttle' itself back to barely an idle and remain there. This would also happen during the night.

I haven't tested yet in this country.

Has anybody else had similar experience ?

Thanks

eddie

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 4, 2007
Taunton Somerset
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
since 1989
The temperature inside the van was down to that required by the thermostat? If it happens again, request that the unit supply a lower temperature, using the remote control.

That will force the unit to start the compressor again.

Other than that it's faulty.

DanielFord

Free Member
Jun 1, 2013
Funster No
You have set it to auto, on the fan speeds as you get to max, the next step is auto. The unit will throttle back the fan as it gets near to temperature. On the remote you should see a little icon that says auto.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
T

thelears

Free Member
Jun 19, 2015
Leicestershire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
Interesting you say about the remote as I had forgotten that......We have tried to use the remote with no response. The display on it works but there is no response from the air con itself. Where should I be pointing it ??

I've spoken to Dometic who suggested replacing the battery in the remote itself as a first step.

So far we have only been able to control the air con using the dials on the unit itself.

Thanks

eddie

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 4, 2007
Taunton Somerset
Funster No
MH
RV
Exp
since 1989
The remote has a "I FEEL" button. That allows the unit to use the thermostat in the remote as opposed to the thermostat in the roof mounted unit.