o3 dongle

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by jgee, Jul 5, 2010.

  1. jgee

    jgee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wigan
    just got 03 dongle 20 pounds with 1gig 30days intend to use it up scotland anyone have one any comments
     
  2. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1,999
    Location:
    Co Durham
    Hi, I was up at Scourie in May, dongle no good up there, same at Arisaig, stopped at Loch Lomond on the way home and it worked fantastic, even used video on Skype. So It's a case of location and a bit of pot luck. I would think the further north you go, the less likely you are to get a signal.

    good luck :thumb:

    John
     
  3. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,475
    Likes Received:
    25,169
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Correction -- you hope to use it.

    Scotland can be *very* patchy.
     
  4. AdgeRas

    AdgeRas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Bristol
    if you mean a 3g dongle, then I can tell you that you will get a signal 'sometimes', but do not hold your breath. We have just had 2 weeks all round scotland, and unless we were close to a small town we just did not get a signal, not even a weak one.

    If you mean an O2 dongle, I can not say how that will work. My suggestion if you have a 3g, or O@ now, is to also maybe get a Vodaphone dongle, as I know there were travellers we met in Scotland that did have luck when we did not.

    Hope that helps.

    Adge
     
  5. Gonewiththewind

    Gonewiththewind Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Just got shut of my "3" as couldn't get a signal in East Sussex, Parts Of Lancashire. Very patchy so now use O2, goes where no other goes.:Rofl1:

    DON
     
  6. MAUBRI

    MAUBRI Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lanner - Cornwall

    I had a vodafone which hardly ever worked, changed to a Payg o2 and it works fine nearly everywhere I go. But back to the original question, will it work in scotland , probably not; However whilst up in Scotland 3 years ago I was parked on the shore line adjacent to Dunvegan Castle and at exactly 2300 every evenning I got a wireless signal that was off the scale, that lasted a full 5 mins. I mentioned it to a local shop keeper that informed me that the Scotish Parliment were trying to get an Internet system throughout the Highlands on Wireless, utilising the many masts on the Emegency Services Buildings dotted around the Coastline and this was a test signal sent out everynight by them. Now wether this is now working or has died a death I have no idea but it might be worth finding out if going up that way

    Brian
     
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  8. bailey

    bailey

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Airdrie Scotland
    Been all over Scotland no problems anywhere with Vodaphone


    Bill
     

Share This Page