Noza tec 7" truck GPS

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by simonjcox, Aug 12, 2015.

  1. simonjcox

    simonjcox

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Hi All.

    Just purchased a Noza Tec 7" truck GPS for use in the van. It seems to work really well and has kept me away from any low bridge problems, or at least so far! although Ive only used it a few times.

    Are there any issues with these units given the cheap price they sell for? Does anybody have any useful tips?.

    Thanks in advance and look forward to hearing back from anybody any information.

    Cheers

    Simon
     
  2. Moodybrook

    Moodybrook Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    628
    Location:
    Dumfries
    One snag is that you have to buy about eight of them to make you feel like you have bought a really expensive one eg snooper etc.
    You then have one for each day of the week and a spare ! :rofl:

    I get on great with my similar one, as do many others on this forum (y)
     
  3. Oldyamyam

    Oldyamyam

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    France
    I have a Prodrive 3 in 1 which is similar but has 3 different satnav prorammes included. I have found it to be better than my TomTom

    Dave
     
  4. TheDeckKing

    TheDeckKing Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Hyde, Cheshire
    Love mine and its got me on a 1000 mile trip round Cornwall and 1300 miles into a trip round France but the sound has stopped working. Am going to ask for a replacement when I get back.
     
  5. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    1,986
    Location:
    Co Durham
    I got one earlier this year Xgody only thing is the screen could do with being brighter, difficult to see in bright light even with sun visor on. I prefer it to my Garmin(y)
     
  6. Irishrover

    Irishrover Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2,176
    Location:
    Wicklow Town, Ireland
    I bought one....used it a few times until it froze and stopped working.....its now in landfill heaven(n)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    I bought one recently & the USB connection doesn't work - PC can't see it.
     
  8. Rob e Lee

    Rob e Lee Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Surrey
    I bought one and it's ok but much prefer CoPilot on my Nexus 7 Tablet. With the Noza Tec mine would freeze occasionally and have to be reset. I just keep it as a back up.

    Rob
     
  9. Greenway

    Greenway Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    I have two and my Windows 8 laptop will not recognise either of them but MacBook does. So I think it may be something to do with windows.
     
  10. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    15,233
    Location:
    notloB
    We love ours but do agree about the screen could be brighter and is it just us or do you all have a Russian bird shouting at you about speed cameras? :eek::LOL:
     
  11. ianandkath

    ianandkath Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    1,042
    Location:
    chorley
    i bought the novotec and must say so far its better than my tomtom.
     
  12. Dorwyn

    Dorwyn Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    somerset
    What is the position with updates? How out of date are they when you buy them?
     
  13. Moodybrook

    Moodybrook Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    628
    Location:
    Dumfries
    I refer to my first reply to the post.

    Question - How long does a Tom pom, gremlin, or superpooper sat nav stay in date ?

    May I suggest you buy a new updated Cheapie chinkie sat nav each year and chuck the old one. If you worry about such things ;)

    I'd guess you are still way "In " pocket after 7 or 8 years !!
     
  14. Irishrover

    Irishrover Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    2,176
    Location:
    Wicklow Town, Ireland
    That would be the way to go alright if they lasted a year??? Mine lasted barely 3 months. I know some here have them longer and thats great, but....The quality from these units is hit and miss and that is a deal breaker for me.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    2,529
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Got one for my birthday. The maps loaded on it were newer than the ones on the web site.

    The only problem I have is I want to move the maps to the sd card but the navigation app won't let me point to it... music plays from the card it is just the navigator that can't see it
     
  16. ianandkath

    ianandkath Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    1,042
    Location:
    chorley
    down load it to your pc, then copy to sd card
     
  17. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    2,529
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    That bit I can do but in the menu in the navigator app where you set the path it doesn't list the external card
     
  18. ianandkath

    ianandkath Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    1,042
    Location:
    chorley
    mine shows 2 drives so 1 for internal and 1 for sd c
     
  19. JackieP

    JackieP Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Mine has just arrived and on this rainy day I'm going to update the maps and get to grips with it. First impressions are very very good. I will still bring along the TomTom tho - just in case.
     
  20. Moodybrook

    Moodybrook Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    628
    Location:
    Dumfries
    My one froze a few times when I got it, got"Lunar" to have ago with it he loaded up a sim with all the POI'S etc that made it worse, reset it to working off internal normal"path" then switched off some of the never needed bells and whistles(travel log, more use for truckers etc )and she has worked fine "Katie, the computer generated voice" is good friend of ours. Found her essential for our 3 week expedition to Bavaria never let us down and using co ordinates from camper contact she took us right to the gates of wherever. I always had a shufty with "Preview" to see where she was proposing to take us and we always found she was spot on. (y)
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page