Now for the next by pass - Armour media unit (1 Viewer)

Nigel&Debbie

Free Member
Nov 20, 2012
Full Timer
Funster No
MH
Autotrail Dakota
Exp
since Jan 2013
Having sorted out the issue of having rear lights on with the engine running, next project is now to be able to use the Ext 2 function on the Autotrail media unit with engine running.

The reason for this 'bypass' is to allow an ipod to be fitted to the input so that it can be used whilst driving along. The ipod does not work via the mini usb as the file system is to big.

The unit is made by Armour Audio. On initial examination, it would appear that the 'safety off' is operated via a wire labelled 'handbrake +ve' Disconnecting this cable does not work.

Any help gratefully received on finding a solution

nigel

Deckard

Free Member
Mar 26, 2013
Lancashire
Funster No
MH
...looking
Exp
Noob
Well I am no expert....but i would proceed as follows....

Set the unit up with the wire connected - have a multimeter connected to read the voltage state - set handbrake on (check reading) handbrake off (check reading)

I would expect that one state passes a voltage - and this is key - as it maybe easy to assume a 12v read but it could be less or more - so this part is important to avoid damage to the unit.

Checking the voltage state will allow you to discern when this actives the disable or enable state on the unit. As it doesnt allow the device to function disconnected (and therefore nil volts) it would initially appear that a positive voltage of some kind would be required.

Checking the voltage is important, as if the application of a voltage to the sensor wire you describe, requires a "manual" feed - ie connecting a 6/12/24v "feed" to fool the unit, you MUST supply the right voltage or in the case of over-voltage supply you WILL damage your unit.

If you are not comfortable messing with wires, meters and such like, find a trustworthy auto electrician, is shouldn't cost much to have a mod fitted.