voyager14

Free Member
Aug 7, 2016
Kidderminster
Funster No
MH
Compass Avantgarde
Exp
I'm a newbie, did have a Caravan about 8 years ago.
Hi there, Parked my MH up last year in October, covered it up and left it over Winter.
Everything was fine when I put it into hibernation.
I uncovered it recently to find Battery flat, completely, must have been something draining it.
After two days of charging I managed to get it to charge back up, it is fine now and fully charged and holding charge.
My problem is, I took the MH for a run today, just to blow cobwebs out and was surprised by the lack of power from the engine, I can normally buzz along at 50mph quite easily, it was a struggle to get the thing to do 40, with foot hard on the floor, would not entertain 5th gear at all. I took it for about 3 miles and though I had better turn for home before it cut out on me, a little better on the way back 45, but no 5th gear. It was fully serviced last year in August by a reputable Auto service depot (whom I use for all my vehicles) so I trust him. My mate says take it for a longer run and it will get better, I think there is something wrong, It will rev out fully when it is stood, but only about 2000 revs under load.
It's a Peugeot Boxer with a 1900 diesel engine 2002, non turbo.
Has anyone had a similar problem.

Mar 31, 2015
WORCESTER
Funster No
MH
Autotrail 660 merc
Exp
SINCE 2012
My brother bought a T4 2.4 non turbo couch built on way home from purchase it black smoked would only do 40. After a fresh tank of fuel and injector cleaner. Totally change.
Andy

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
on a modern vehicle if the battery is disconnected and then reconnected its not unusual to feel the engine is not running correctly... I'm sure it says that in my handbook as well.. but not sure whether thats a trait on a 2002 engine set up..
could it be a fuel issue with the vehicle been stood so long, bacteria in tank and filter...