No power to 12v sockets

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by MikeandCarolyn, Mar 10, 2010.

  1. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    Since our last trip (when everything was working) we have had 2 Solar panels ,1 Invertor and a Battery Condition meter fitted- went to the Poole Charity Meet last weekend and found that there was no power to either the TV or Sattelite dish.Checking yesterday there was no power to any 12v sockets but all lights and pumps (12v) were ok. Any ideas where to start looking ?

    I'd like to try and identify the problem myself before taking it back to 'The Man' :Rofl1:

    Mike.
     
  2. JayDee

    JayDee Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    N. Devon
    Hi Mike,
    About a month ago, when we took our MH off it's hard-standing, I was inflating the tyres using our external 12v socket and blew a fuse. It was very much a hunt the thimble game as I had nothing to tell me if the circuit was wired into the Fiat system or the Dethleffs system. It seemed reasonable that it had been wired into the Elektroblock (under the driver's seat in our case) and probably on one of the fuses there, though not helped by the lack of an English translation. I did eventually trace the culprit to the 'block so that would be a good place to start.

    Of course your Elektroblock may not be under the seat :Sad:, so good luck with that. It should have a mention in the owners manual though.:Smile:


    John
     
  3. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    Owners Manual-there's a laugh :Rofl1:in all sections there are pictures of various controls etc. that bear no resemblance to anything actually fitted :BigGrin:
    But-there is something under the passenger seat,which I had assumed was 'Fiat' rather than 'LMC' I will have a look. Thx

    Mike.
     
  4. JayDee

    JayDee Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    N. Devon
    Elektroblock should look a bit like this; lots of connecters and loads of fuses.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    It was under seat,and looks exactly like that-20Amp fuse on left end looked as though it had got hot at some time-but there was continuity there.All other fuses are good.

    With no fuses blown,I'm no wiser as to why there's no power on 12v sockets.

    One thing that gives me concern is that there is a connector labelled 'solar reg' but nothing going to it-so where has 'HE' connected the solar reg and why?

    Mike.
     
  6. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,473
    Likes Received:
    25,163
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Looks like he wired direct to leisure battery. Had he wired to the electroblock it would have topped up the starter battery as well.

    Should be a fuse.

    Electroblock will disconnect the leisure battery if it gets too low, it does this in two stages keeping essentials on 'till the last minute.
     
  7. PeterandLinda

    PeterandLinda Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    You will probably have to look for fuses along the wiring - it seems to be common practice to put fuses all over the place but good practice would put them near to the leisure battery to protect the wiring as well as the appliance - it's going to be a tedious job though.

    P&L
     
  8. iceni

    iceni Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Birmingham
    If you have solar panels fitted and they are in excess of abouyt 10 watts then there should be a regulatr box in the system. this may be a little box with voltage and ams deiplayed on it. they usually put it in a conveinient place so you can keep an eye on the battery condition.

    If they havent put a regulator on then the batteries will boil themselves to death especially on a sunny day when the panels are showing 4 or 5 amps

    It seems that is only parts of the 12v system are not working that theres a fuse gone somewhere sop a milti meter will be useful to track back the wiring till you find voltage

    Phill
     
  9. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    What is 'too low'? Last weekend,without EHU, battery was at 65% 1st thing in morn before it got light, and was fully charged by midday.

    Mike.
     
  10. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,473
    Likes Received:
    25,163
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    10.5v
     
  11. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    Cryptic as ever :BigGrin:
    And of course I didn't look at volts-only the % charge.
     
  12. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,783
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    If the habitation lights and the water pump are working, but the 12V sockets are not, that suggests the problem is not the battery. Have you checked all the fuses on the front of the Elektroblock (EBL)?

    The sockets are likely to be connected via one of the following fuses:
    Kreis 1 / Kreis 2 (kreis = 'set' or idiomatically, 'circuit')
    Reserve 1,2,3 or 4 - these can be used for various electrical supplies according to the manufacturer's wishes; your satellite system may be connected to one of these, or it may be taken straight from the leisure battery or an existing 12V socket line.

    One other thought. If the main switch on the EBL has been turned off recently during sola installation, try turning it off then on again, and then go to the 12V master switch on the control panel (with the meters) and switch that off then on again. This should not be the problem as the pump is working, but when the main switch on the EBL has been switched off, you have to reset the system by switching the control panel master switch on, then off, then on again.

    Philip
     
  13. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,473
    Likes Received:
    25,163
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    If I were a civil servant or lawyer I could have padded it out to 10 pages to claim a fat fee but the answer is still 10.5V.

    % charge is probably more guesswork than fact. I very much doubt ( but I could be wrong ) that it will monitor current used and voltage and work out the *real* percentage for a new or aging battery.

    Now if it's got % charge it's a different beastie to the electroblock pictured and that I quoted 10.5V from. Or was % charge from a separate battery manager ?
     
  14. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    It was from a NASA battery monitor.

    Mike.
     
  15. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,473
    Likes Received:
    25,163
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    With a name like that it should be accurate to 17 decimal places.
     
  16. JayDee

    JayDee Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    N. Devon
    The firm that fitted our solar panel set-up went direct to the battery as they find it more straight forward (he said). There will be a regulator fitted somewhere in the system.

    The 12v is quite a mystery. In our Dethleffs I'm not aware of any other fuses in the system, but LMC may do it differently.
    Do you think it would be any use getting in touch with a dealership. I spoke to these people a few years ago and found them quite friendly
    http://www.geistforlife.com/
    Might be worth a call to their service department.
    Hope you get it sorted soon.


    John
     
  17. JayDee

    JayDee Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    166
    Location:
    N. Devon
    A while after posting the above it occured to me that 12v sockets are not necessarily a standard fitting. Our Dethleffs had a single 12v socket in the TV cabinet. The external 12v was retro-fitted by the dealer when we bought it and I spurred (and fused) an additional 12v socket in the habitation area myself. The only other 12v outlets are run from the vehicle battery in the cab. What I'm suggesting here (in a rather long-winded way) is that your 12v sockets may well be retro-fitted by the previous owner or the dealer they bought it from, in which case the spur and fuse could be just about anywhere. Do you have a fitted TV cabinet or suchlike? That's where I spurred from. You might be able to spot the link-in from inside the cabinet.


    John
     
  18. wireman

    wireman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    My television and some other stuff is wired direct to the battery with inline fuses....check at your battery to see if the installer has left a positive or negative lead off by mistake. JFYI my battery has at least 4 connections to it, soon to be 5 when I get the solar fitted....
     
  19. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    There is a TV cabinet and in there is one dual socket with 12v and mains sockets,there is also another of these sockets next to the cooker.In both cases there is power to the mains socket but not the 12v one.I assume these were original fittings.The Kathrein control box is in the warbrobe and is hardwired.The Kathrein decoder unit is in a cupboard next to the TV cupboard and,again, is hardwired.Next to the Leisure battery are 2 covers,under which are contact boxes.One box has a section marked TV -all contacts in there are clean and tight.In the Electrobox is a fuse labelled TV,that fuse is OK.
    At least I am learning where things are wired to if nothing else :BigGrin:
    The only thing I know of that goes to engine compartment is the Kathrein Dish Motor is wired into the ignition so that it goes down when you start the engine.
    I will spend some more of my weekend crawling around tomorrow,and may even get the Multi Meter out,but as I don't really know (yet) what readings I should be looking for I'm not sure if that would be a worthwhile excersise :Rofl1:
    At least with plumbing problems the worst that can happen is you get wet!! Electricity is shocking stuff and I'm not very confident playing with it (yet).

    Mike.
     
  20. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    Done that-unfortunately no loose ends around-I was really hoping there might be :BigGrin:

    Mike.
     
Loading...

Share This Page