no heat from furnace

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by john and carole, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. john and carole

    john and carole Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    brierfield lancs
    need some advice please. when we switch the blown air heating on the fan starts up but the gas doesnt ignite.where do we start to look and if we cant spot anything does anyone know of somewere in Lancs for help.PS complete novices with this rv thingy:RollEyes:
     
  2. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk
    First thing to look at, your batteries must have plenty of charge. We've had the same problem. As ours was a bit long in the tooth, we eventually replaced ours with a new furnace as we are now fulltiming in ours and we didn't want an 'iffy' one over last winter. It cost us $660.00 bought direct from the States.

    'Damondunc' on here knows a thing or two about them and repairs them, so it might be an idea to pm him.

    Nigel and Pamala
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    Have a furnace troubleshooting guide .. too big for attachments, I will upload to the download section..

    Jim
     
  4. john and carole

    john and carole Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    brierfield lancs
    Thanks guys ,batteries have plenty of charge so will download furnace troubleshooting and take it from there and hope its nothing to serious:thumb:
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Mine is often troublesome at the onset of winter, but after running it's usually fine ..

    Good luck, persevere, if it's been idle for a while it may take several attempts to get it lit.. the gas line may be empty, dampness is also a problem if it's been laid up, try spraying the board and connectors with some WD 40 .. make sure there are no spiders webs in the burner and air intake..

    Look inside the van, make sure the air intake isn't blocked, ours is under the sofa and Jan once put a blanket in and blocked it ..

    Jim
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2009
  6. GEOFFs125

    GEOFFs125 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salisbury, Wilts
    Have a look at the trouble shooting guide posted by ScotJimland.

    I used something similar to diagnose the fault on my furnace. My furnace would ignite and blow hot air for a few seconds, then blow cold air for a few seconds, re-ignite to blow hot air for a few seconds then blow cold air for the remainder of the cycle until it was switched off.

    I replaced the PCB, supplied by Linda at Stateside, now it ignites first time everytime :thumb:

    Good luck

    Geoff
     
  7. chatter

    chatter Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    cheshire
    We had trouble with the furnace in our 5ver last year had to get a new strikey thing and have that put in, ours kept clicking when trying to light but failing to ignite the gas
     
  8. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    2,193
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Furnace Probs

    Hi

    The Suburban Furnace relies on a "Sail Switch" which requires that the fan is running AND MOVING SUFFICIANT AIR before it will allow ignition. IF this is "stuck" it may attempt to start but not fire up.?

    any use?


    pete
     

Share This Page