No Hdmi Input On Avtex

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Dave and Ginny, Jul 7, 2015.

  1. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Nottingham
    My 15" Avtex is about 7 years old and I was surprised it's not got any HDMI input! It has SCART and a PC input but no HDMI.

    My understanding is that SCART is strictly analogue and wont work even with an adapter.

    Looks like I might be looking for a new TV...anyone overcome this?
     
  2. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    What are you looking to connect to the TV?
     
  3. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Nottingham
     
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    11,115
    Location:
    Kettering
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Assuming you're going to try to do wireless mirroring think you're probably screwed then if no HDMI.
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    • Like Like x 1
  7. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    11,115
    Location:
    Kettering
    If you need any cable, HDMI or otherwise, how is it wireless? The clue's in the name (y)

    On a Samsung TV that only works if both devices are connected to the same WiFi network. I've always found it too much of a faff and just plugged the device in with a cable, not using screen mirroring just selecting the HDMI source.
     
  8. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Aldi Medion 21" for us.
     
  9. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Because you plug an HDMI dongle into the TV and the phone connect wirelessly to that.(y)
    What sockets does the mobile have that enables you to connect wired to the TV?:unsure:
     
  10. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Nottingham
  11. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    (y)(y)(y)

    How are you planning to connect your smartphone to the TV?
     
  12. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    11,115
    Location:
    Kettering
    MD826.jpeg

    (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I have an adapter that came from Maplin. I already use it on the house TV and it works brilliantly both on WIFI and even streaming with '3' on there 'eat as much data' plan.
     
  14. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,358
    Likes Received:
    9,625
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Same here, I bought a Cello 19" but the sound was so tinny we relegated it to the kitchen in the house where it gets turned on once in a blue moon. The old Avtex is back in the van with a scart connection from the Sky box. So it's £450 for a 24" Avtex or perhaps we'll look at the Finlux as I struggle to see the Avtex from any distance. :(
     
  15. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    (y)(y)(y)

    You'll need to explain as I don't recognise that cabling. Guess the "small" end plugs into the phone? What socket and what output does that give?:unsure:
     
  16. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I'm the same with the Avtex...for whatever reason the picture has declined and is now too dark. I have fiddled with the contrast and brightness but it wont go any brighter!
     
  17. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    Slightly cheaper option albeit more space required. We plug in a pair of USB powered speakers. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Logitech-980-000513-Z120-Stereo-Speakers/dp/B00544XKK4/ref=dp_ob_title_ce
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    Location:
    Nottingham
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/maplin-mhl-20-11-pin-adapter-to-hdmi-n18nu

    This is what I have for my S3. The short lead goes into the phone and the charger into the body of the adapter along with the HDMI cable from the TV. Turn it on and the TV replicates whatever is on the phone.
     
  19. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    11,115
    Location:
    Kettering
    Small end is an Apple Lightning connector so plugs into your iPhone or iPad. It gives you a standard HDMI output. Your TV will see it in the same way is it would see anything else connected by HDMI. Does the job for me perfectly well.

    The only things it won't work for are apps such as SkyGo where the content provider (Sky etc) has blocked the ability to view on remote displays but mirroring wouldn't work either in that situation.
     
  20. Gellyneck

    Gellyneck Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Scotland
    But it's a Samsung smartphone the OP's got as per post #3? Does that work with that brand of mobile?:unsure:
     
Loading...

Share This Page