No 12v power in habitation area

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by vectian, Feb 11, 2016.

  1. vectian

    vectian Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    I have a Y plate Hobby 600 on a Ducati chassis.
    About 2weeks ago all was fine and everything was working ok. Today I went into it and there's no 12v to the lights, water pump, TV booster, but the fridge ignition works and the fridge runs on 12v when the engine is running. There is also 12v to the TV which runs direct to the TV via a separate switch direct from the leisure battery. All 4 circuit breakers seem fine.
    The engine starts perfectly and even when running there is no 12 volt to the hab area. At present I cant get it onto mains to see what happens then until the weekend.
    The only fuse in the engine compartment I can find seems fine.
    Batteries show about 13 volts on the display voltmeters and the ammeter is dead centre with no charge or discharge.
    Anybody any ideas what could be wrong.
     
  2. vectian

    vectian Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    I've put it on mains hook up and the control panel shows the leisure batteries are fully charged.
    The fuses on the leisure batteries are intact. Ive taken the control panel off and there doesn't appear to be any 12 volt feeds to be live on it.
    Anybody any ideas what co
     
  3. vin0114

    vin0114 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    Sheffield
    The only advice I can offer is negative in that the habitation area should be isolated apart from the fridge when the engine is running.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. vectian

    vectian Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    Thanks vin0114
    Spent most of day trying to sort. After having to remove both front captains seats to get to leisure battery and what I thought was a battery charger I find power going into the box but nothing going to the control panel. A very helpful Paul at Themotorhomedepot says it is likely this big black box under the seat thats the problem. Sent him pics to identify which particular unit it is for the age and model. Has anyone any idea what its called and where I might source one and the rough price of it
     
  5. RichardB

    RichardB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Can you post pictures so we can see what it is
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. denisejoe

    denisejoe Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    828
    Location:
    Isle of Sheppy
    That is only on British vans

    Joe
     
  7. vectian

    vectian Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    PICT0004.JPG
    PICT0006.JPG Here's the offending object, the first pic shows it with the top of the box removed to show the workings, mainly a transformer, circuit board with 6 or 7 relays. The second is the label from the front.
    There's power on two of the leads from leisure battery and vehicle battery and nothing out of it
     
  8. vin0114

    vin0114 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    Sheffield
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    2,140
    Location:
    Lincs
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. vin0114

    vin0114 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Thanks @denisejoe, didn't know that and amazed that this is a just a UK requirement when every other restraint seems to originate from EU directives.
     
  11. denisejoe

    denisejoe Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    828
    Location:
    Isle of Sheppy
    everything in the back of our Euramobil works with the engine on. Just need to arrange some straps so that Denise can cook our dinner while we're going along, LOL! Already got a seatbelt on the loo.

    joe
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,198
    Likes Received:
    2,260
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    AFAIK this one comes from some bright spark in the NCC (group that represents UK caravan and motorhome manufacturers). Daft idea. AFAIK none of the European motorhomes have this restriction - the Adria I had before and my present Hymer certainly don't.
     
Loading...

Share This Page