Nikkai digital problem

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by GJH, May 9, 2010.

  1. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,454
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    We have a Nikkai TV like This One bought from Maplins a couple of years ago - not certain of purchase date because I can't find the receipt but well over 12 months so out of warranty.

    Whilst we were away over the last couple of weeks a fault developed on the Digital tuner whilst I was tuning it in. It won't "lock on" to the Digital mode, the screen flashes up the default Nikkai logo every few seconds and it doesn't respond to the controls on the TV or the remote, with the exception that it is possible to switch to the other (Analogue, VGA and AV) modes. The unit still works fine on Analogue and using the Aldi satellite kit via the AV input.

    Has anyone any experience of a similar problem with the Digital mode? If so is it fixable?

    Graham
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Graham

    I would take it back to Maplin, it may be out of warranty but it's less than two years old and under the Sale of Goods Act you can still claim it was of poor quality in reference to the durability aspect.

    If that fails they may offer to repair or replace at a small cost .. worth a try and do make a fuss, stand your ground and just repeat that you are not happy, retailers hate a customer making a fuss in a busy store ..

    I've returned Nike training shoes that had split at the seam, they were over a year old, I had no receipt, and had them replaced ..
     
  3. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,454
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Thanks Jim. Trouble is we have a sneaking suspicion that it may be more than two years old. Typical that we had a clear out only a few weeks ago and probably binned the receipt then :Smile:

    Graham
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I'd still give it a try.. nowt to lose .. except face :Rofl1:

    which has never held me back :Laughing:
     
  5. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,531
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    On your "menu" screen is there an option to update software Graham? If there is run thro the sequence this will sometimes put a "fault" right. If not is there a default settings option? Might be worth a try. :BigGrin:
     
  6. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    3,318
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Hi Graham, I'd give Maplin a try but to be honest my experience of Nikkai gear is that its not terribly good. I had a CD/radio head unit that refused to play any CDs after nine months so I upgraded it to one with Bluetooth for hands free phone operation and this too failed to play CDs after about nine months or so. Probably best to accept that its crap and buy a decent one instead.

    D.
     
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,454
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Thanks Ken. One problem is that the menu screen won't display :Smile:

    Thanks Dave. I'll start saving my pennies - I'm sure I can find a supplier of decent ones somewhere :BigGrin:

    Graham
     
  8. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    34,454
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Well Hurrah and Huzzah - I'm a happy bunny again :BigGrin:

    I realised that we had only had a problem with the TV when on mains power so decided to check it using the 12v lead off the leisure battery - no problem at all, perfect reception. Found another mains adapter with appropriate output and tried it using that in the house - no problem at all, perfect reception.

    Also tried a power brick that outputs 12v but only up to 500 mA (rating of the Nikkai power brick is 1.0 A) and the effect was the same as with the Nikkai power brick - so it would seem that the Nikkai power brick has developed a fault which means it is not delivering high enough power for the digital tuner.

    I'll look around for a replacement power brick but using the 12v lead will be no problem whether we are on hook-up or not so problem solved :thumb::thumb:

    Graham
     
Loading...

Share This Page