Newly retired and seriously thinking of a fulltime MH adventure (1 Viewer)

2oldnslow

Free Member
Jul 16, 2012
germany
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp
Hi there as the title a complete newbie so any and all advice thankfully received

Colin

Dec 6, 2011
South Wales
Funster No
MH
Coach built Adria
Exp
Since 2007
welcome to the forum and you will not regrette getting involved in motorhoming at whatever level you choose:thumb:

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
I'm retired but not fulltiming. There are however copious threads on here on the subject so have a look around.

Also :welcomefunster:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Jul 28, 2010
The world
Funster No
MH
Small car
Exp
make a list of what you really need on your RV and what you would like
then you have a starting pint on the layout and fixtures
then make sure you able to drive it legally HGV is a must for many that are claimed to be car license (big NO NO )

remember it will always be a compromise on what you want and what is out there in the second hand market

Too many people buy a motorhome on credit over four /five years
they manage to make the repayments and put some fuel in for a few trips pay insurance and road tax but have not got the where with all to pay for the full maintenance of the outfit
so on the secondhand market are many that are leaking at the seams or ready to do so

so Buy a good damp meter use it in every corner locker and wall joint both top and bottom
if it shows any damp at all WALK AWAY do not think ho i can get it cheaper now you will be buying a real load of work and expense. just the first signs on the inside can mean a full wall strip out

if you do buy make sure you have at least £2000.00 put aside for repair and maintenance over the next three years
If you have to ask how many miles per gallon with this big beast do ?
ask your self should you be looking at the beast in the first place