Mar 2, 2015
London
Funster No
MH
looking for friend
Exp
i am a newbie
Hello

My friend bought a caravan from Nothern Ireland and wants to bring back to East London. Caravan is after the fire from electrics so non runner. Tried to find some companies who can transport but nobody is taking the beast like that , offcourse some big rigs do take but they are asking a lot. The beast how they are colling is "only" 2.3m wide and 7.5 meters length. If anyone would know any company or anybody who would help to bring it back to london, i would appreaciate your help.

thanks
Marty

scotjimland

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 25, 2007
Suffolk Coastal District, UK
Funster No
MH
Timberland
Hi Marty .
It could transported on a low-loader, but frankly.. unless it is extra special, Airstream or similar or ultra rare.. I think it will probably cost more to transport than it's worth ..

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
I assume you are thinking someone will just put it on the back of a car / van and tow it all the way.. If it's not in a fit state then I dont blame them for not wanting to tow it plus trailer rates on that ferry crossing must cost a fair bit..
Low loader easy enough but as said depends on value, may just not be viable.... Just websearch Ireland to UK transport companies.

Nov 6, 2013
S. Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
The usual
Exp
Since the beginning
Can't you/he just "botch" the electrics enough for the rear lights to work enough to tow it back ?
Or, am I wildly underestimating the level of fire damage ? In that case, a low loader might be the only answer.

jollyrodger

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 1, 2012
Devon/Cornwall
Funster No
MH
'Obby
Exp
Since 1968'ish
Perhaps a photo of said beast might give us a clue as to ideas on recovery :rollingeyes:

davejen

Free Member
Aug 21, 2008
Preston
Funster No
MH
Given up travelling
Exp
Since 1992
Could be towed with a lightboard on an extra-long lead?